The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 12, 2009, 04:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Philly Area
Posts: 52
Exclamation BUT Duke got the ball at Half Court

Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
I can't view YouTube at work. But Singler did receive an Intentional Technical foul last night and NC took the ball out at half court. Was this the play or a different one? I wasn't paying close attention to the TV but wasn't Singler's T after some kind of scrum for a loose ball?
It appears that they clearly called a dead ball intentional T (it's either nothing, intentional or flagrant when the ball is dead) after the held ball was called. That is why any player from UNC could shoot the free throws and that is why the ball would be taken out at half court and not nearest spot. BUT, the ball was given to Duke at half court, which may have been from the A/P POI, but incorrect in this context.

Edit: I see others have mentioned that Duke got the ball at half court. Wasn't familiar with this forum and the multiple pages.

Last edited by CallMeMrRef; Thu Feb 12, 2009 at 04:15pm. Reason: didn't realize the posts were 3 pages long
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 12, 2009, 04:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ohio, cincinnati
Posts: 813
The play by play sheet has this transpiring as a steal by Singler and then a Technical on Singler.
There is not listing other than technical So the only way that I see this would be they called a T non- intentional - and gave the ball to Duke at POI but I still have not seen the play will look tonight.
__________________
New and improved: if it's new it's not improved; if it's improved it's not new.
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 12, 2009, 04:15pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by CallMeMrRef View Post
It appears that they clearly called a dead ball intentional T (it's either nothing, intentional or flagrant when the ball is dead) after the held ball was called. That is why any player from UNC could shoot the free throws and that is why the ball would be taken out at half court and not nearest spot. BUT, the ball was given to Duke at half court, which may have been from the A/P POI, but incorrect in this context.
If they'd gone AP/POI, would the ball not have been inbounded on the endline?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 12, 2009, 04:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
In the closed thread Bob said the admin seemed correct.
Never listen to Bob.

I misread the other thread (in terms of who got the ball), I didn't see the play and the player's names mean nothing to me.
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 12, 2009, 04:25pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Never listen to Bob.

I misread the other thread (in terms of who got the ball), I didn't see the play and the player's names mean nothing to me.
What kind of Duke fan are you? Sheesh!
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 12, 2009, 04:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Philly Area
Posts: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
If they'd gone AP/POI, would the ball not have been inbounded on the endline?
Yes, nearest spot. But in this play the intentional T overrides and ball is awarded to offended team at division line. even though we had a held ball, the arrow would not change.
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 12, 2009, 04:32pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by CallMeMrRef View Post
Yes, nearest spot. But in this play the intentional T overrides and ball is awarded to offended team at division line. even though we had a held ball, the arrow would not change.
I understand that much. My point is that it makes no sense to give the ball to Duke at the division line. Either give it to Duke on the endline (if you're going POI) or give it to UNC at the division line.

I know which is correct, but there's at least some logic to the other. The way it was don't doesn't make sense.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 12, 2009, 04:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
I dont see how you can call an elbow that makes contact (and you think its intentional) NOT FLAGRANT!!!!

It almost like saying "I know he punched him but it didn't knock him out so we dont need to eject him."
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 12, 2009, 05:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 460
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
(The below ignores the "airborne shooter" possibility since it's not relevant to the play.)

Your terms are very confusing. You can't have a "common foul" during a dead ball.

Contact during a dead ball is IGNORED unless it's intentional or flagrant. Then, it's either an IT or FT foul.

Your "slap on the arm" would most likely be ignored. (I'm talking about the rule; as officials we might address the situation without calling a foul.)
A jump ball is called where Team A gets the AP. About a second after the whistle is blown while A1 is holding the ball, B1 attempts to knock the ball out of A1's hands but slaps A1's arm.

With all due respect, I am sorry but I am not going to ignore this contact.

If this type of action/foul happened during a live ball, it would be a common foul (since the contact was neither intentional or flagrant). But since this occurred during a dead ball (whistle blown for the jump ball), it would be penalized as a intentional technical.
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 12, 2009, 05:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,230
Quote:
Originally Posted by dahoopref View Post
A jump ball is called where Team A gets the AP. About a second after the whistle is blown while A1 is holding the ball, B1 attempts to knock the ball out of A1's hands but slaps A1's arm.

With all due respect, I am sorry but I am not going to ignore this contact.

If this type of action/foul happened during a live ball, it would be a common foul (since the contact was neither intentional or flagrant). But since this occurred during a dead ball (whistle blown for the jump ball), it would be penalized as a intentional technical.
If it wasn't intentional/flagrant when the ball was live, why would be intentional/flagrant when the ball is dead?

-Josh
Reply With Quote
  #41 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 12, 2009, 05:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Lincoln Co, Missouri
Posts: 823
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
I understand that much. My point is that it makes no sense to give the ball to Duke at the division line. Either give it to Duke on the endline (if you're going POI) or give it to UNC at the division line.

I know which is correct, but there's at least some logic to the other. The way it was don't doesn't make sense.
I agree, I guess the answer could be they flat out kicked it all around. Unless someone close to the situation has any insight, we'll probably never know.
Reply With Quote
  #42 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 12, 2009, 06:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by eyezen View Post
I agree, I guess the answer could be they flat out kicked it all around. Unless someone close to the situation has any insight, we'll probably never know.
I wish Fox and Scully would come back and help us out with this one.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #43 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 12, 2009, 08:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdmara View Post
If it wasn't intentional/flagrant when the ball was live, why would be intentional/flagrant when the ball is dead?

-Josh
Call it an unsportsmanlike foul if you like. Either way, it should be a T.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #44 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 12, 2009, 10:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 460
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdmara View Post
If it wasn't intentional/flagrant when the ball was live, why would be intentional/flagrant when the ball is dead?

-Josh
Because it is by definition:

2008-09 NCAA Rulebook

Pg 73 Rule 4 Art 3

g. (Men) Intentional technical foul. An intentional technical foul
involves intentionally contacting an opponent in an excessive nonflagrant
manner when the ball is dead.
Reply With Quote
  #45 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 12, 2009, 11:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,230
Quote:
Originally Posted by dahoopref View Post
A jump ball is called where Team A gets the AP. About a second after the whistle is blown while A1 is holding the ball, B1 attempts to knock the ball out of A1's hands but slaps A1's arm.

With all due respect, I am sorry but I am not going to ignore this contact.

If this type of action/foul happened during a live ball, it would be a common foul (since the contact was neither intentional or flagrant). But since this occurred during a dead ball (whistle blown for the jump ball), it would be penalized as a intentional technical.
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdmara View Post
If it wasn't intentional/flagrant when the ball was live, why would be intentional/flagrant when the ball is dead?

-Josh
Quote:
Originally Posted by dahoopref View Post
Because it is by definition:

2008-09 NCAA Rulebook

Pg 73 Rule 4 Art 3

g. (Men) Intentional technical foul. An intentional technical foul
involves intentionally contacting an opponent in an excessive nonflagrant
manner when the ball is dead.
So if it's not excessive during live ball play, why would be be excessive during a dead ball?

-Josh
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Elbow Brace Juulie Downs Basketball 5 Wed Dec 10, 2008 08:43am
elbow(s) mdray Basketball 14 Fri Oct 27, 2006 02:12pm
throwing an elbow yankeesfan Basketball 4 Sun Jan 30, 2005 05:36am
Elbow violation Adam Basketball 3 Mon Jan 24, 2005 12:24am
elbow pad roadking Basketball 3 Mon Jan 05, 2004 01:42pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:49pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1