The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 12, 2009, 01:53pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,987
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spence View Post
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yUFeSOjYfdU

If the elbow to Hansbrough was deemed accidental should it be a T?
I can't view YouTube at work. But Singler did receive an Intentional Technical foul last night and NC took the ball out at half court. Was this the play or a different one? I wasn't paying close attention to the TV but wasn't Singler's T after some kind of scrum for a loose ball?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 12, 2009, 02:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
I can't view YouTube at work. But Singler did receive an Intentional Technical foul last night and NC took the ball out at half court. Was this the play or a different one? I wasn't paying close attention to the TV but wasn't Singler's T after some kind of scrum for a loose ball?
Carolina did NOT get the ball after the T.

Duke got the ball at the division line.

I hope someone can explain why because it made no sense to me.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 12, 2009, 02:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Southern West Virginia
Posts: 146
BB ref is correct. The ball was given to Duke at the division line, tableside (I believe).
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 12, 2009, 02:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,230
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
Carolina did NOT get the ball after the T.

Duke got the ball at the division line.

I hope someone can explain why because it made no sense to me.
Because the play was blown dead on the jump ball, they went to the AP arrow.

-Josh
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 12, 2009, 02:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
Carolina did NOT get the ball after the T.

Duke got the ball at the division line.

I hope someone can explain why because it made no sense to me.
I believe it's because they go to POI in NCAA after a technical.

Edit: jdmara just clarified.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 12, 2009, 02:59pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by zm1283 View Post
I believe it's because they go to POI in NCAA after a technical.

Edit: jdmara just clarified.
Not on a dead ball intentional contact Technical. This is the only Men's T given where you put the ball at the division line. I will have to look this up and confirm, but this T should not be a POI administration.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 12, 2009, 03:05pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,987
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
Carolina did NOT get the ball after the T.

Duke got the ball at the division line.

I hope someone can explain why because it made no sense to me.
Oh, must have heard the info wrong. A D-League buddy of mine called to asked what happened on the play b/c he couldn't figure out what was going on either.

In the closed thread Bob said the admin seemed correct. But I don't see how it can be correct if a dead ball foul of some type was called on Singler that involved contact.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
Not on a dead ball intentional contact Technical. This is the only Men's T given where you put the ball at the division line. I will have to look this up and confirm, but this T should not be a POI administration.

Peace
You are correct, no need to look it up. A couple years ago there were False Double Fouls in the BC/Duke game that involved a taunting T against A1 followed up by a Intentional Contact Technical against B1. After administration Team A received the ball at the division line as a result of the foul against B1.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Thu Feb 12, 2009 at 03:13pm.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 12, 2009, 03:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
NCAA 4-53-1e
Point of interruption is a procedure used to resume play because:
Any technical foul(s).
Exceptions: (Men) single intentional technical foul
and single flagrant technical foul.

NCAA 7-5-7

After a technical foul, a player of the offended team may attempt
the free throws and the ball shall be put back in play at the point of
interruption.
Exceptions: (Men)
Flagrant technical foul and intentional technical
foul, play shall resume by awarding the ball to the offended team at a
designated spot at the division line on either side of the playing court.

Help me out!

__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 12, 2009, 03:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,230
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
Oh, must have heard the info wrong. A D-League buddy of mine called to asked what happened on the play b/c he couldn't figure out what was going on either.

In the closed thread Bob said the admin seemed correct. But I don't see how it can be correct if a dead ball foul of some type was called on Singler that involved contact.



You are correct, no need to look it up. A couple years ago there were False Double Fouls in the BC/Duke game that involved a taunting T against A1 followed up by a Intentional Contact Technical against B1. After administration Team A received the ball at the division line as a result of the foul against B1.
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
NCAA 4-53-1e
Point of interruption is a procedure used to resume play because:
Any technical foul(s).
Exceptions: (Men) single intentional technical foul
and single flagrant technical foul.

NCAA 7-5-7

After a technical foul, a player of the offended team may attempt
the free throws and the ball shall be put back in play at the point of
interruption.
Exceptions: (Men)
Flagrant technical foul and intentional technical
foul, play shall resume by awarding the ball to the offended team at a
designated spot at the division line on either side of the playing court.

Help me out!

I stand corrected. I guess I can leave work now, I learned something new already.

-Josh
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 12, 2009, 03:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ohio, cincinnati
Posts: 813
Rule 10.
Section 5 (MEN) CLASS A Unsporting Technical Infractions
RESUMPTION OF PLAY: For any technical foul(s), play shall resume at the point of ineteruption except for a single intentional or a single Flagrant technical foul. For a single intetional or a single flagrant technical, the ball shall be awarded to the offended team at a designated spot at the division line on either side of the playing court.
__________________
New and improved: if it's new it's not improved; if it's improved it's not new.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 12, 2009, 04:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,240
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
In the closed thread Bob said the admin seemed correct.
Never listen to Bob.

I misread the other thread (in terms of who got the ball), I didn't see the play and the player's names mean nothing to me.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 12, 2009, 04:25pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Never listen to Bob.

I misread the other thread (in terms of who got the ball), I didn't see the play and the player's names mean nothing to me.
What kind of Duke fan are you? Sheesh!
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 14, 2009, 08:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Never listen to Bob.
Oh no. This is worse than the Epimenides paradox!
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 14, 2009, 09:02am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,525
Wikipedia May Have To Shut Down ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
This is worse than the Epimenides paradox!
I bet this website gets a record number of hits today:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Epimenides_paradox
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 14, 2009, 12:29pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
Oh no. This is worse than the Epimenides paradox!
So, is Bob a Cretan or a liar? I'm so confused.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Elbow Brace Juulie Downs Basketball 5 Wed Dec 10, 2008 08:43am
elbow(s) mdray Basketball 14 Fri Oct 27, 2006 02:12pm
throwing an elbow yankeesfan Basketball 4 Sun Jan 30, 2005 05:36am
Elbow violation Adam Basketball 3 Mon Jan 24, 2005 12:24am
elbow pad roadking Basketball 3 Mon Jan 05, 2004 01:42pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:55am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1