The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 10, 2009, 07:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Any catching or holding of the ball establishes player control and thus team control as well. If the player catches/holds the ball, even with only one hand, while airborne, then the ball has the same fc/bc status as the player and that is based upon where the player was last in contact with the floor.

So if you deem that the player held the ball with one hand and threw it, then a backcourt violation has occurred. However, if the player merely bats the ball without ever holding it, then there was no violation.
The ESPN clowns actually said something along these lines last night during the MO/KS game. Screwed up much else, of course, in order to keep their reputations.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 10, 2009, 08:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
The ESPN clowns actually said something along these lines last night during the MO/KS game. Screwed up much else, of course, in order to keep their reputations.
I'm pretty sure I also heard them say that you can block a shot that has already hit the backboard. Isn't that goaltending in NCAA and NBA, but not NFHS?

One of them also used the term "side out" on a non shooting foul.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 11, 2009, 07:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by zm1283 View Post
I'm pretty sure I also heard them say that you can block a shot that has already hit the backboard. Isn't that goaltending in NCAA and NBA, but not NFHS?
You don't have the complete picture.

Under current NCAA rules, there are cases when a player can block a shot AFTER the ball has contacted the backboard. The rule only prohibits touching the ball after it has struck the backboard, if the ball is completely above the level of the ring and has a chance to enter the basket.

So, for example, if a player swats the ball while part of it is BELOW the level of the ring, then this is legal even if the it has already contacted the backboard.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 11, 2009, 08:21am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,715
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
The ESPN clowns actually said something along these lines last night during the MO/KS game. Screwed up much else, of course, in order to keep their reputations.
Last night, one of the announcers on the Florida/Kentucky game said the clock would start when the free throw hit the rim.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Player Control and Team Control fouls MelbRef Basketball 15 Mon Dec 15, 2008 01:43pm
Backcourt violation "team control" wizard Basketball 13 Mon Feb 05, 2007 09:17am
player control/team control hardwoodballers Basketball 56 Wed Aug 23, 2006 08:41am
Player control vs Team control foul QuebecRef87 Basketball 6 Wed Jan 26, 2005 07:42am
team/player control @ backcourt MN 3 Sport Ref Basketball 16 Fri Mar 21, 2003 12:56pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:03pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1