The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 06, 2009, 11:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,842
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
While we have discussed the correct procedure and the relevant case play was cited, there is at least one state (Illinois) in which this ruling is not followed, IIRC. (Or at least, it wasn't being followed at the time we discussed it previously.)
This play actually happened in Illinois recently and the 2 free throws decided the game. Officials made the right call and allowed FTs to count.

Are you sure about the ruling not allowed in IL.?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 06, 2009, 12:14pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,694
Quote:
Originally Posted by fullor30 View Post
This play actually happened in Illinois recently and the 2 free throws decided the game. Officials made the right call and allowed FTs to count.

Are you sure about the ruling not allowed in IL.?
This was posted by JRutledge (who I think is in Illinois) after a long discussion of this very situation. He contacted his state interpreter, who said it was a correctable error:

http://forum.officiating.com/showpos...0&postcount=55
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 06, 2009, 05:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Consult the PAST INTERPS ARCHIVE!

Quote:
Originally Posted by fullor30 View Post
Just got this situation via e-mail and doing a cut and paste. Haven't checked books. I'm saying sub should have shot free throws. This actually happened recently. I also think below is correctable if fouled out player shot.


"Close to the end of the game, a player gets fouled and retaliates by shoving the player who fouled him and gets introduced to "Mr T" for his efforts.

The player who was fouled shoots his free throws and makes both of them, followed by the T shots. After the free throws are all shot, the scorer notifies the officials that the player who got the T (and made 2 free throws) had fouled out.

What do you do?"
This situation pops up every now and then. The NFHS has provided a definitive answer. It is in our past interps archive.

http://forum.officiating.com/showpos...8&postcount=33
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 06, 2009, 09:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,842
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
This situation pops up every now and then. The NFHS has provided a definitive answer. It is in our past interps archive.

http://forum.officiating.com/showpos...8&postcount=33
It's more fun to read the banter here ! I'll admit I haven't dipped into the archives much.

When the season winds down, I'll snuggle up to the hearth, with a down comforter and a glass of Merlot and review seasons' past.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ruling LongIslandZebra Baseball 6 Thu Nov 03, 2005 09:25am
ruling? xxssmen Basketball 3 Tue Feb 08, 2005 11:44am
Ruling WinterWillie Softball 8 Tue Feb 24, 2004 12:25pm
What is the Ruling? Metrodom Basketball 15 Mon Jan 26, 2004 08:43pm
Ruling? Scotto Baseball 4 Fri Nov 14, 2003 07:16pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:01pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1