The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 08, 2005, 02:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 56
1) Player A1 attempt a shot but miss evrything and goes and catch his/her airball and continued to dribble or shoot again legal or not?
I say its legal but my friend here say NO so can u give me the right answer for him?

2) Player A1 dribbling down the court and decide to pass the ball to A2 but see that his /her pass is going to be intercepted decide to hold back the pass but it slip out, so can player A1 go and retrieved the ball after he/she pass it off and decide to pass it again.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 08, 2005, 02:49am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
Quote:
Originally posted by xxssmen
1) Player A1 attempt a shot but miss evrything and goes and catch his/her airball and continued to dribble or shoot again legal or not?
I say its legal but my friend here say NO so can u give me the right answer for him?

2) Player A1 dribbling down the court and decide to pass the ball to A2 but see that his /her pass is going to be intercepted decide to hold back the pass but it slip out, so can player A1 go and retrieved the ball after he/she pass it off and decide to pass it again.
1) Legal in NFHS and NCAA rules. Illegal in the NBA.

2)Judgement call. If you rule the attempt to pass a fumble, the player can go and get it. They can then pass, shoot or hold the ball but they can't dribble again. If you rule that the attempt is actually a pass, then the player can't legally go get the ball. It would be a violation as soon as it's touched.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 08, 2005, 11:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 168
Quote:
Originally posted by xxssmen
1) Player A1 attempt a shot but miss evrything and goes and catch his/her airball and continued to dribble or shoot again legal or not?
I say its legal but my friend here say NO so can u give me the right answer for him?

2) Player A1 dribbling down the court and decide to pass the ball to A2 but see that his /her pass is going to be intercepted decide to hold back the pass but it slip out, so can player A1 go and retrieved the ball after he/she pass it off and decide to pass it again.
1)as long as it's a legitimate shot attempt it's legal
2)it's a judgemnt and a tough call to make sometimes. usually when a player is dribbling and then attempts to make a pass he establishes control of the ball momentarily. if he does what you describe after controlling the ball I have a violation because you can't pass to yourself.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 08, 2005, 11:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by xxssmen
1) Player A1 attempt a shot but miss evrything and goes and catch his/her airball and continued to dribble or shoot again legal or not?
RULING: You owe Tony five bucks.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:56pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1