The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 26, 2004, 03:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 11
What is the Ruling?

Team A fouls and it is the 7th team foul on Team A. Team B lines up to shoot the 1+1. The official bounces the ball to the Team B free throw shooter who receives the pass to attempt the first free throw. A teammate of Team B violates (is in a marked lane space and steps out to the 3-point arc). The violation is called (therefore eliminating the second free throw attempt). Team B coach requests that the wrong shooter was attempting the bonus. What is the ruling if the officials (a) know that the shooter was not the right player or (b) do not know that the incorrect shooter was at the line.

[Edited by Metrodom on Jan 26th, 2004 at 02:52 PM]
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 26, 2004, 03:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Idaho
Posts: 1,476
Quote:
Originally posted by Metrodom
Team A fouls and it is the 7th team foul on Team A. Team B lines up for the 1+1. The official bounces the ball to the free throw shooter who receives the pass. A teammate of Team B violates (is in a marked lane space and steps out to the 3-point arc). The violation is called. Team B coach requests that the wrong shooter was attempting the bonus. What is the ruling if the officials (a) know that the shooter was not the right player or (b) do not know that the incorrect shooter was at the line.
Team B violates is not an immediate call... wait for the results. If misses then shoot again.

Wrong shooter is your fault and is a correctable error. see 2-10. Erase the points get the correct shooter.

Team B cannot step out trying to force enforcement the rules. All he would have had to do was say "That's not the right shooter." before you passed him the ball.
__________________
"There are no superstar calls. We don't root for certain teams. We don't cheat. But sometimes we just miss calls." - Joe Crawford
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 26, 2004, 03:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 11
What is the Ruling?

A violation by a teammate of the free throw shooter is not a delayed whistle. The violation is called as soon as it happens.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 26, 2004, 03:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Re: What is the Ruling?

Quote:
Originally posted by Metrodom
A violation by a teammate of the free throw shooter is not a delayed whistle. The violation is called as soon as it happens.
True, but in your original post, it says that A was shooting and a team B member stepped out. Have I misunderstood the situation?
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 26, 2004, 03:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 11
What is the Ruling?

I apologize. When I said that "Team B lines up for the 1+1" I meant that Team B was the shooting team. I have since edited it. Sorry about the mix up.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 26, 2004, 03:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Idaho
Posts: 1,476
OOooops

I think I misread it also. I guess I was expecting Team A as offense and to shoot.

Violation by the shooting team is immediate and loss of opportunity.

Still a correctable error if you had the wrong shooter and discovered it during the time slot for making corrections.
__________________
"There are no superstar calls. We don't root for certain teams. We don't cheat. But sometimes we just miss calls." - Joe Crawford
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 26, 2004, 03:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 15
I understand your post.

This is a correctable error as in 2-10-4.

"If the error os a free throw by the wrong player or at the wron basket, or the awarding of an unmerited free throw, the free throw and the activity during it, other than unsporting, flagrant, intentional, or technical fouls, shall be cancelled"

A lane violation is "activity other than unsporting, flagrant, intentional, or technical fouls". Therefore it is cancelled. However unfortunate for team A, the correct Team B shooter will get the 1+1 oppportunity.

If you cannot confirm the correct shooter then you have the violation standing and A's ball at the endline for the violation at the front end of a 1+1.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 26, 2004, 04:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,613
Quote:
Originally posted by bsktball_ref
I understand ......................
AHEM!!! We already have a BktBallRef here.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 26, 2004, 04:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Posts: 1,517
Well, if you have the wrong shooter then you get the correct shooter to the line for the 1-1. Ignore the violation. If you still think you have the correct shooter then its a violation.
__________________
foulbuster
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 26, 2004, 04:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 11
What is the Ruling?

I agree with the post from bsktball_ref for the rule interpretation. Bottom line is to make sure and communicate with your partner(s) who the correct free throw shooter is.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 26, 2004, 05:31pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,221
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:
Originally posted by bsktball_ref
I understand ......................
AHEM!!! We already have a BktBallRef here.

You got any illegitimate kids we don't know about, Tony?
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 26, 2004, 05:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,613
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:
Originally posted by bsktball_ref
I understand ......................
AHEM!!! We already have a BktBallRef here.

You got any illegitimate kids we don't know about, Tony?
Hell, I didn't know about this one.

When I asked, I just always tell people that "I have three kids, that I know about."
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 26, 2004, 06:01pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,557
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:
Originally posted by bsktball_ref
I understand ......................
AHEM!!! We already have a BktBallRef here.

You got any illegitimate kids we don't know about, Tony?
No pics with your post, JR?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 26, 2004, 06:41pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
I'm sticking with the violation here. "I'm sorry coach, but I cannot verify that we had the wrong shooter."
I'm not rewarding Team B for putting the wrong guy at the line.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 26, 2004, 07:06pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,221
Quote:
Originally posted by Snaqwells
I'm sticking with the violation here. "I'm sorry coach, but I cannot verify that we had the wrong shooter."
I'm not rewarding Team B for putting the wrong guy at the line.
How about "We'll re-shoot the FT,Coach,but your first shooter is getting a T for trying to shoot undeserved FT's".
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:30pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1