The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 03, 2009, 09:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
So, what do you do when, during pregame warmups for the JV game, one of the players dunks? Then, you find, that he's not in the book because he's a varsity player just screwing around.
It's been discussed here ad nauseum -- with passionate arguments on both sides.

Personally, if it's clear that he's not a JV player, then just get him off the court. If you think the coach is trying to pull a fast one, issue the T.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 03, 2009, 09:52am
Ref Ump Welsch
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
How I hate non-player situations like this. Had a boys reserve game one night where I observed a player warming up with earrings. During captains' meeting, I emphasized no jewelry (he wasn't a captain), yet when the teams went to huddle before the tip-off, he still had the earrings in. I went over to him, and told him to get rid of the earrings. He said, I'm not playing, and when I looked at his outfit compared to the others, I realized he wasn't kidding me. What made me think he was a player, he had the same warmup shirt on. Jeez.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 03, 2009, 11:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
It's been discussed here ad nauseum -- with passionate arguments on both sides.

Personally, if it's clear that he's not a JV player, then just get him off the court. If you think the coach is trying to pull a fast one, issue the T.
What fast one will the coach be trying to pull?
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 03, 2009, 11:49am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee View Post
What fast one will the coach be trying to pull?
If one of his players dunks prior to when the book is filled out, for example, and the coach wants to avoid the T, he can leave said player out of the lineup.

He can then have him added to the book later, but this time it's a team T only; nothing to the player or coach. Coach can also time this so that it only costs him two free throws.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 03, 2009, 12:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
snaq, in all due respects, thats quite the ledge you are dangling off.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 03, 2009, 12:14pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee View Post
snaq, in all due respects, thats quite the ledge you are dangling off.
Tell me, then, what do you do if A55 dunks with 14 minutes on the clock. You go to report it, and the book isn't done yet. Coach says he's one of the varsity guys. What's your call?

You just asked "what fast one" the coach could be pulling. I told you; it's not my ledge.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 03, 2009, 12:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: WI
Posts: 825
[QUOTE=Snaqwells;575316]Tell me, then, what do you do if A55 dunks with 14 minutes on the clock. You go to report it, and the book isn't done yet. Coach says he's one of the varsity guys. What's your call?QUOTE]



I guess I'd T and tell the coach that an A55 just dunked when they knew they couldn't
__________________
When I want your opinion - I'll give it to you!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 03, 2009, 12:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,193
Quote:
what do you do when, during pregame warmups for the JV game, one of the players dunks? ... he's not in the book
Being in the book has nothing to do with anything. The Rule 10 technical reads "player." Since a "player" is one of only 5 at a given time, the rule's intent is actually "team member," which includes everyone in uniform who is eligible to be a player. The rule in Rule 10 probably should read "Player or team member" to cover times when more than 5 can be on the court -- such as pregame and warm ups. The book isn't required to be complete prior to 10 minutes before the game (and, individuals can be added later as well at the expense of a penalty), yet the officials' jurisdiction begins 15 minutes prior. You're still going to call a T for an apparent team member who dunks at 14 minutes prior even though he isn't yet in the book.

Don't make this hard: if he is a team member, T. If not, tell game management to tell them to stay off the rim. Its not your job to involve yourself with non team members.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 03, 2009, 12:10pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
If one of his players dunks prior to when the book is filled out, for example, and the coach wants to avoid the T, he can leave said player out of the lineup.
This point is debatable.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 04, 2009, 08:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
If one of his players dunks prior to when the book is filled out, for example, and the coach wants to avoid the T, he can leave said player out of the lineup.

He can then have him added to the book later, but this time it's a team T only; nothing to the player or coach. Coach can also time this so that it only costs him two free throws.
There is a simple way to put a stop to that.

Charge both the team T when the name is entered later AND a direct technical foul to the Head Coach for unsporting behavior.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 05, 2009, 01:38pm
Ref Ump Welsch
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I asked the state coordinator of officials in Nebraska (NSAA) regarding the situation in the OP and this was his response:

Probably should have skipped the technical foul. The player that dunked the ball was not part of the game being contested. He and his teammates shouldn't have been on the floor.

According to the NSAA basketball manual, teams are not permitted to shoot/warm-up at the intermission of the preceding game. In this case the athletic administrator should have been informed and the violation should have been reported to the NSAA.


Moral of story: Check with your state on how to handle this, they may already have a policy in place.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 05, 2009, 03:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
There is a simple way to put a stop to that.

Charge both the team T when the name is entered later AND a direct technical foul to the Head Coach for unsporting behavior.
Are you advocating two different penalties for one action?
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 05, 2009, 05:05pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy View Post
Are you advocating two different penalties for one action?
It's more of a delayed penalty for the earlier pregame dunk.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 05, 2009, 05:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
It's more of a delayed penalty for the earlier pregame dunk.
I understand the reasoning, I'm not sure about penalizing an act that already carries it's own penalty with something on top of it. So, is he saying there would be 4 FT's for this administrative T?
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 06, 2009, 05:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy View Post
Are you advocating two different penalties for one action?
I think he's advocating two T's for two separate acts. One is obviously the administrative T for adding the player to the book. The second is direct to the head coach for his deceitful actions in trying to game the system and avoid the T for the dunk.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Correctable Error...not giving warranted freethrow jritchie Basketball 12 Thu Jan 13, 2005 05:58am
2 Ts warranted- Part 2 johnSandlin Basketball 27 Mon Mar 29, 2004 09:18am
2nd T warranted? FHSUref Basketball 35 Sat Mar 27, 2004 12:45pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:51am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1