The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Sat Jan 31, 2009, 02:18am
Official Forum Member

Unhappy Evaluations...

As a newbie trying to move up (I'm in my third year in my local association) I got my first evaluation in three years recently for a 9th grade boys game. It didn't go so hot. My evaluator docked me because I would not wait for my partner to "relieve" me so I could report the foul. (i.e. If I was lead and called a foul, I'd have to stay there with my arm in the air until my partner got to my spot BEFORE, I could go and report the foul).

I've spoken with a few other officials and they just laughed at that.

Am I wrong to say this "rule" that I got docked for is a bad idea? I'm all for getting the game flowing. When I call a foul, I wait to make sure we're not going to see a fight, inform my partner what I got, and go report.

Thoughts?
Old Sat Jan 31, 2009, 04:08am
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to Kingsman1288
Not something I've ever been docked for, and I thought I had been docked for some weird stuff in the past.

It sounds weird, but if it's what your association wants you to do then do it.
Old Sat Jan 31, 2009, 04:36am
Official Forum Member

Send a message via Skype™ to shishstripes
Two man or three man? By the book in 2-man, non-calling official holds his/her position watching the players until calling official is done reporting. Not quite as sure about 3-man. Sounds more like, when in Rome type of situation.
Old Sat Jan 31, 2009, 08:48am
Official Forum Member

This is your first review ever?

I'm in my first year and have had 2.
Old Sat Jan 31, 2009, 11:35am
Official Forum Member

NFHS is the opposite of what your evaluator appears to require.