The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 26, 2009, 04:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 277
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Why do you believe that it is okay to ignore the rule?
I thought I might get a bite on this one. I certainly don’t believe it’s OK to ignore a rule. And I know what the rule says about the ball being “within” the basket.

4-6-1
Basket interference occurs when a player:
ART. 1 . . . Touches the ball or any part of the basket (including the net) while the ball is on or within either basket.

However, I also know the intent of the rule is to prevent the influencing the scoring of the shot when the ball meets the parameters defined by the rule. When a player has a hold of or touches the net when the ball is within the basket, 99.9 times out of a hundred the outcome of the scoring of the shot will not be modified.

By rule, we actually see BI once or twice a game in high school. Player shoots and a defender is coming on strong but late to block the shot. The shot bounces around above the ring and the defender lightly brushes the bottom of the net. No call. Cause it had no effect.
That’s my opinion on it anyway. I’m sure others will disagree.

Last edited by Vinski; Mon Jan 26, 2009 at 04:24pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 26, 2009, 04:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,024
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vinski View Post
I thought I might get a bite on this one. I certainly don’t believe it’s OK to ignore a rule. And I know what the rule says about the ball being “within” the basket.

4-6-1
Basket interference occurs when a player:
ART. 1 . . . Touches the ball or any part of the basket (including the net) while the ball is on or within either basket.

However, I also know the intent of the rule is to prevent the influencing the scoring of the shot when the ball meets the parameters defined by the rule. When a player has a hold of or touches the net when the ball is within the basket, 99.9 times out of a hundred the outcome of the scoring of the shot will not be modified.

By rule, we actually see BI once or twice a game in high school. Player shoots and a defender is coming on strong but late to block the shot. The shot bounces around above the ring and the defender lightly brushes the bottom of the net. No call. Cause it had no effect.
That’s my opinion on it anyway. I’m sure others will disagree.
1. Forget the philosophy and apply the black and white rule. Keep it simple.

2. The defender is allowed to contact the net, which is part of the basket, when the ball is ABOVE the ring. Calling BI in that situation would be incorrect by rule.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:17pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1