View Single Post
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 26, 2009, 04:28pm
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vinski View Post
I thought I might get a bite on this one. I certainly don’t believe it’s OK to ignore a rule. And I know what the rule says about the ball being “within” the basket.

4-6-1
Basket interference occurs when a player:
ART. 1 . . . Touches the ball or any part of the basket (including the net) while the ball is on or within either basket.

However, I also know the intent of the rule is to prevent the influencing the scoring of the shot when the ball meets the parameters defined by the rule. When a player has a hold of or touches the net when the ball is within the basket, 99.9 times out of a hundred the outcome of the scoring of the shot will not be modified.

By rule, we actually see BI once or twice a game in high school. Player shoots and a defender is coming on strong but late to block the shot. The shot bounces around above the ring and the defender lightly brushes the bottom of the net. No call. Cause it had no effect.
That’s my opinion on it anyway. I’m sure others will disagree.
1. Forget the philosophy and apply the black and white rule. Keep it simple.

2. The defender is allowed to contact the net, which is part of the basket, when the ball is ABOVE the ring. Calling BI in that situation would be incorrect by rule.
Reply With Quote