![]() |
BI or Not??......and iPods
Play situation. A1 shoots, ball comes off the rim towards front of the basket. A2 comes down the lane, unchecked, goes up taps the ball and it goes in the basket. His arm motion continued in a forward motion and his hand gets caught in the net and actually causes the rim to bend and snap back. This happens while the ball is 'in the basket'.
Offensive BI or nothing? Question 2: Player(s) wearing headphones/iPod during pre-game warmups. I don't see anything in the rulebook preventing this. What would you do, if anything, if a player wearing headphones was one of the captains for the captain's meeting and didn't remove headphones? Interested in the comments..... |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Quote:
Peace |
We were instructed by the state (in anticipation of this situation) that if it cannot be worn during the game (excluding warm-up jerseys, etc), it cannot be worn before the game. This includes jewelry, ipods, etc...
-Josh |
Quote:
2) Make the player remove the items |
1) If it's mostly below the ring, I'm not calling anything. Half way or more above the ring, then I would call BI.
2) Have them put it away. |
Quote:
|
Not saying I disagree with the BI call, but can this OP in anyway be associated with an offensive player dunking the ball?
A lot of times on a dunk, when the ball is 'in the basket', the offensive player is grasping the rim or sometimes pulling it down, and/or even touching the net. |
On the iPod/earphones thing, I heard one official say that he would walk that player over to his coach and then tell the coach "I need a different team captain, one that can hear me."
|
Quote:
This clearly isn't a dunk, so that exception can't apply. |
Quote:
4-6-1 Basket interference occurs when a player: ART. 1 . . . Touches the ball or any part of the basket (including the net) while the ball is on or within either basket. However, I also know the intent of the rule is to prevent the influencing the scoring of the shot when the ball meets the parameters defined by the rule. When a player has a hold of or touches the net when the ball is within the basket, 99.9 times out of a hundred the outcome of the scoring of the shot will not be modified. By rule, we actually see BI once or twice a game in high school. Player shoots and a defender is coming on strong but late to block the shot. The shot bounces around above the ring and the defender lightly brushes the bottom of the net. No call. Cause it had no effect. That’s my opinion on it anyway. I’m sure others will disagree. |
Quote:
2. The defender is allowed to contact the net, which is part of the basket, when the ball is ABOVE the ring. Calling BI in that situation would be incorrect by rule. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:52pm. |