![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Why do you believe that it is okay to ignore the rule?
|
|
|||
|
Not saying I disagree with the BI call, but can this OP in anyway be associated with an offensive player dunking the ball?
A lot of times on a dunk, when the ball is 'in the basket', the offensive player is grasping the rim or sometimes pulling it down, and/or even touching the net.
__________________
When the horn sounds, we're outta here. |
|
|||
|
On the iPod/earphones thing, I heard one official say that he would walk that player over to his coach and then tell the coach "I need a different team captain, one that can hear me."
__________________
When the horn sounds, we're outta here. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
This clearly isn't a dunk, so that exception can't apply. |
|
|||
|
I thought I might get a bite on this one. I certainly don’t believe it’s OK to ignore a rule. And I know what the rule says about the ball being “within” the basket.
4-6-1 Basket interference occurs when a player: ART. 1 . . . Touches the ball or any part of the basket (including the net) while the ball is on or within either basket. However, I also know the intent of the rule is to prevent the influencing the scoring of the shot when the ball meets the parameters defined by the rule. When a player has a hold of or touches the net when the ball is within the basket, 99.9 times out of a hundred the outcome of the scoring of the shot will not be modified. By rule, we actually see BI once or twice a game in high school. Player shoots and a defender is coming on strong but late to block the shot. The shot bounces around above the ring and the defender lightly brushes the bottom of the net. No call. Cause it had no effect. That’s my opinion on it anyway. I’m sure others will disagree. Last edited by Vinski; Mon Jan 26, 2009 at 04:24pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
2. The defender is allowed to contact the net, which is part of the basket, when the ball is ABOVE the ring. Calling BI in that situation would be incorrect by rule. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|