![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
Player control ends after a player has released the ball for a field goal attempt or a pass in NCAA Men's Rules. If A0, after releasing the ball for a field goal attempt, makes contact with B1 while the ball was live, the official must determine whether the contact is illegal or incidental. If the contact is illegal it is a foul. The foul is a person foul and can either be a common (but not a player control or team control) foul, an intentional foul, or a flagrant foul. It the play you described it was ruled a common foul and Team B was not in the bonus so it received the ball for a throw-in for A0's foul. A player control foul is a common foul committed by a player who is control (holding or dribbling) of the ball. See NCAA R4-S29-A2.a.1. The definition of charging is found in NCAA R4-S10-A1: "Charging is illegal personal contact by pushing or moving into an opponent’s torso." MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Some clarification from the NCAA | Nevadaref | Basketball | 0 | Tue Dec 16, 2008 09:58pm |
NCAA Mens Kick Ball Rule Clarification Needed | mtbabo | Basketball | 28 | Wed Jan 24, 2007 03:40pm |
NCAA rule clarification... | ckrumm24 | Basketball | 7 | Sun Mar 12, 2006 02:59am |
NCAA handcheck clarification | stripes | Basketball | 3 | Tue Nov 09, 2004 09:52am |
New NCAA "team control" clarification | Mark Padgett | Basketball | 2 | Mon Aug 25, 2003 06:44am |