View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 10, 2009, 08:49am
Jburt Jburt is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
Player control ends after a player has released the ball for a field goal attempt or a pass in NCAA Men's Rules. If A0, after releasing the ball for a field goal attempt, makes contact with B1 while the ball was live, the official must determine whether the contact is illegal or incidental. If the contact is illegal it is a foul. The foul is a person foul and can either be a common (but not a player control or team control) foul, an intentional foul, or a flagrant foul.

It the play you described it was ruled a common foul and Team B was not in the bonus so it received the ball for a throw-in for A0's foul.

A player control foul is a common foul committed by a player who is control (holding or dribbling) of the ball. See NCAA R4-S29-A2.a.1.

The definition of charging is found in NCAA R4-S10-A1: "Charging is illegal personal contact by pushing or moving into an opponent’s torso."

MTD, Sr.
This is similiar to the NFHS rule correct? Once the airborne shooter has one foot on the ground and commits a charging foul, score the hoop and shoot the bonus at the other end?
Reply With Quote