The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 07, 2009, 10:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Racine, Wisconsin
Posts: 1,081
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichMSN View Post
Which you won't get, because I would be scoring the basket (in my mind) right with the calling official.
So if you start you shooting motion and I push you and you take 3 steps you are going to going to let your partner count the basket?
__________________
Every game is a big game
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 07, 2009, 10:54am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoodwillRef View Post
So if you start you shooting motion and I push you and you take 3 steps you are going to going to let your partner count the basket?
Three steps, I'll see. Two steps, I'll see. Pivot foot dragging, I probably won't see.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 07, 2009, 10:56am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert E. Harrison View Post
As a player is going up for a try he is bumped. The bump causes the pivot foot that had been lifted on the try to return to the floor before the ball is released. The ball is released shortly after the pivot foot returns to the floor and the ball goes through the basket.

Do you count the basket or award two shots and disallow the basket.
I have also seen the bump cause the shooter to drag his pivot foot before releasing the ball on the try.

Thanks for the help.
A player cannot commit a violation or foul after they've been fouled, and expect that the shot will still count if successful.

If they could, a little bit of pondering will make you realize that players could take advantage of this, and how they would do it. Since we don't see players taking advantage of this situation, there must not be this situation to be taken advantage of! Whistle the foul, waive the basket off and signal the reason why: travelling. Award 2 or 3 shots.
__________________
Pope Francis

Last edited by JugglingReferee; Wed Jan 07, 2009 at 11:02am.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 07, 2009, 11:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,842
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
I'll delete the evidence.
You weren't at Watergate were you???
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 07, 2009, 11:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Racine, Wisconsin
Posts: 1,081
Quote:
Originally Posted by JugglingReferee View Post
A player cannot commit a violation or foul after they've been fouled, and expect that the shot will still count if succesful.

If they could, a little bit of pondering will make you realize that players could take advantage of this, and how they would do it. Since we don't see players taking advantage of this situation, there must not be this situation to be taken advantage of! Whistle the foul, waive the basket off and signal the reason why: travelling. Award 2 or 3 shots.
A player cannot commit a violation or foul after they've been fouled, and expect that the shot will still count if succesful.

What page in the rule book is this on?
__________________
Every game is a big game
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 07, 2009, 11:02am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by fullor30 View Post
You weren't at Watergate were you???
obviously not.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 07, 2009, 11:22am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoodwillRef View Post
A player cannot commit a violation or foul after they've been fouled, and expect that the shot will still count if succesful.

What page in the rule book is this on?
Say A1 gets fouled, and then takes 3 steps, releases the ball, and it goes in. Are you going to count it?
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 07, 2009, 11:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,177
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoodwillRef View Post
A player cannot commit a violation or foul after they've been fouled, and expect that the shot will still count if succesful.

What page in the rule book is this on?
The one where a ball becomews dead if a violation occurs and there's no exception for "continuous motion".
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 07, 2009, 11:31am
MABO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: MB, Canada
Posts: 796
Quote:
Originally Posted by Indianaref View Post
ROBERT E. HARRISON
"As a player is going up for a try he is bumped"
ROBERT E. HARRISON
"The bump causes the pivot foot that had been lifted on the try to return to the floor before the ball is released. The ball is released shortly after the pivot foot returns to the floor and the ball goes through the basket."

Therefore what BBR & Juggler says is correct.
__________________
"Your Azz is the Red Sea, My foot is Moses, and I am about to part the Red Sea all the way up to my knee!"

All references/comments are intended for educational purposes. Opinions are free.
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 07, 2009, 11:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 751
If you are quick enough to realize that the foul caused the travel, then you should be quick enough to know that the "travel" ends the try and no points can then be awarded...

Shoot 2 FT's and score no points.
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 07, 2009, 11:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,086
Quote:
Originally Posted by SmokeEater View Post
ROBERT E. HARRISON
"The bump causes the pivot foot that had been lifted on the try to return to the floor before the ball is released. The ball is released shortly after the pivot foot returns to the floor and the ball goes through the basket."

Therefore what BBR & Juggler says is correct.
Yes. You and Bob are correct. Continuous motion does not apply since the violation occurred and before the ball had left his hand. 2 shots.
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 07, 2009, 02:45pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,124
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
I will add if it's an airborne shooter who gets fouled, once he returns to the floor with the ball, it's gonna be two shots.


Snaqs:

Don't be so quick with that response. NFHS, NCAA, and FIBA rules:

PLAY: A1 is dribbling toward Team A's basket. While both feet are in the air, A1 stops his dribble by gathering (with apologies to the NBA) the ball into both hands. In one continuous motion A1 lands on his left foot, then jumps off his left foot and lands on his right foot, then jumps off is right foot, and then releases the ball for a field goal attempt. The field goal attempt is successful.

QUESTION: If A1 is fouled at any point after he stopped his dribble and before he returns to the floor after releasing the ball for his field goal attepmt, has he be fouled in the act of shooting?

RULING: Yes. A1 was airborne three (3) different times during his field goal attempt. See NFHS Rules R4-S11-A1 and A2. The NCAA and FIBA rules concur.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 07, 2009, 02:54pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Good point, Mark. Obviously, that's not the play I was envisioning.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 07, 2009, 03:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Italy
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
Snaqs:

Don't be so quick with that response. NFHS, NCAA, and FIBA rules:

PLAY: A1 is dribbling toward Team A's basket. While both feet are in the air, A1 stops his dribble by gathering (with apologies to the NBA) the ball into both hands. In one continuous motion A1 lands on his left foot, then jumps off his left foot and lands on his right foot, then jumps off is right foot, and then releases the ball for a field goal attempt. The field goal attempt is successful.

QUESTION: If A1 is fouled at any point after he stopped his dribble and before he returns to the floor after releasing the ball for his field goal attepmt, has he be fouled in the act of shooting?

RULING: Yes. A1 was airborne three (3) different times during his field goal attempt. See NFHS Rules R4-S11-A1 and A2. The NCAA and FIBA rules concur.
I talk about FIBA rules: the act of shooting ends when the player returns with both feet on the floor after releasing the ball (15.2).

But the problem of the OP is different; Robert was only asking about the basket, not about shooting attempt. It's clear that traveling before releasing the ball, but after being fouled, causes the ball to become dead: wave off the basket and award two FT. But I concur with others in saying that I'd not be looking very closely to the fouled player's feet.

Ciao
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 07, 2009, 03:53pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
Snaqs:

Don't be so quick with that response. NFHS, NCAA, and FIBA rules:

PLAY: A1 is dribbling toward Team A's basket. While both feet are in the air, A1 stops his dribble by gathering (with apologies to the NBA) the ball into both hands. In one continuous motion A1 lands on his left foot, then jumps off his left foot and lands on his right foot, then jumps off is right foot, and then releases the ball for a field goal attempt. The field goal attempt is successful.

QUESTION: If A1 is fouled at any point after he stopped his dribble and before he returns to the floor after releasing the ball for his field goal attepmt, has he be fouled in the act of shooting?

RULING: Yes. A1 was airborne three (3) different times during his field goal attempt. See NFHS Rules R4-S11-A1 and A2. The NCAA and FIBA rules concur.

MTD, Sr.
I'd have to see this play, but I don't picture a shooting motion that starts before the first landing in this case.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Foul After Shot actuary77 Basketball 7 Fri Dec 08, 2006 02:36pm
Foul? Travel? Held ball? ChuckElias Basketball 10 Wed Dec 28, 2005 08:05pm
Foul? Travel? ChuckElias Basketball 20 Mon Nov 28, 2005 02:51pm
travel then hard foul oc Basketball 5 Mon Mar 14, 2005 09:35am
Double whistle, foul or travel davidw Basketball 6 Thu Feb 07, 2002 04:08pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:02pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1