![]() |
|
|||
Here's a real life play that we've discussed in theory. What are your thoughts?
A1 attempts a try near A's basket. There is minor contact as B1 tries to draw the charge. No foul call. B1 ends up on the floor near the basket just as A2 secures the rebound. One of A2's feet lands on B1 and A2 trips, going to the ground while holding the ball. This happened in my Juco game today. What's the call? Foul on B1? Or travel on A2? (I think I got it wrong. ![]()
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only! |
|
|||
Well I'm not a ref so don't go by what I say... but I don't think it would be a travel unless he got up off of the floor after he fell to it.
And I don't think it would be a foul on B1, since A2 initiated the contact by landing on him. |
|
|||
4-33-4a ar 23
Foul on B1.
__________________
9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg |
|
|||
![]() Quote:
Thanks, Sparky! ![]() mick Hmmm. Now I wonder what happens if a rebounder comes down on an opponent's foot, instread of the opponent's stomach. [Edited by mick on Nov 27th, 2005 at 10:15 PM] |
|
|||
I certainly have a foul - the defender can't have position when lying on the floor. But I would be pretty lenient in this sitch - it would have to cause a significant disadvantage for me to pin a player on hte ground for a foul.
As far as landing on someone's foot - this is (IMHO) a no call.
__________________
Duane Galle P.s. I'm a FIBA referee - so all my posts are metric Visit www.geocities.com/oz_referee |
|
|||
Interesting that this play would not be a foul on B1 under FED rules in 2004-5 case play 10.6.1 Situation E.
This case play is no longer in the case book. I am not aware of any change in the interpretation on this play, so is this now a foul in NFHS play? |
|
|||
![]()
Situation F is missing as well.
But both are in the ARS version of the Case Book. Hmph!! ![]()
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
Quote:
They took Situations A, E & G outa last year's book. The ones that were left were re-numbered. Situation A was an explanation of guarding principles and the ruling for last year's SitG is certainly still valid. Kinda leads one to believe that the old "landing on an opponent on the floor" case that was removed is still valid also. Maybe. |
|
|||
Quote:
Great situation!!!!
__________________
truerookie |
|
|||
Quote:
We talked about it after the game and we both decided it was a bad call. ![]() In the same game, we had a double whistle on a drive. I was Lead, but held my signal and looked at my partner. He yielded, I called a block and awarded 2 shots. Coach says, "But it went in!" #$%@!!! Partner didn't see it. I didn't see it, b/c we were looking at each other. Nobody at the table saw it go in, so we went with 2 shots. Looked awful, tho. ![]()
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only! |
|
|||
Quote:
Falling to the floor while holding the ball is a travel. Quote:
I don't think that's true. What makes that apparent? Quote:
It was not at all an unusual play, except that A2 landed on B1.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only! |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() Oh my! |
|
|||
Quote:
Oh my! [/B][/QUOTE] JR, Trail may have had a Team Control and didn't give a hoot whether the ball went in, or not. ![]() mick |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|