![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
Snaqs: Don't be so quick with that response. NFHS, NCAA, and FIBA rules: PLAY: A1 is dribbling toward Team A's basket. While both feet are in the air, A1 stops his dribble by gathering (with apologies to the NBA) the ball into both hands. In one continuous motion A1 lands on his left foot, then jumps off his left foot and lands on his right foot, then jumps off is right foot, and then releases the ball for a field goal attempt. The field goal attempt is successful. QUESTION: If A1 is fouled at any point after he stopped his dribble and before he returns to the floor after releasing the ball for his field goal attepmt, has he be fouled in the act of shooting? RULING: Yes. A1 was airborne three (3) different times during his field goal attempt. See NFHS Rules R4-S11-A1 and A2. The NCAA and FIBA rules concur. MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Foul After Shot | actuary77 | Basketball | 7 | Fri Dec 08, 2006 02:36pm |
Foul? Travel? Held ball? | ChuckElias | Basketball | 10 | Wed Dec 28, 2005 08:05pm |
Foul? Travel? | ChuckElias | Basketball | 20 | Mon Nov 28, 2005 02:51pm |
travel then hard foul | oc | Basketball | 5 | Mon Mar 14, 2005 09:35am |
Double whistle, foul or travel | davidw | Basketball | 6 | Thu Feb 07, 2002 04:08pm |