![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Having the wrong team inbound the ball after a basket is different from having the wrong team inbound the ball after a violation (or foul). On one it's too late to correct; on the other it isn't. |
|
|||
|
That is a fair difference between the two situations. Now I've got to ask the next question: When would it be too late to correct the situation I described? If one of the first two shot attempts went in, could those points come off the board?
__________________
Things turn out best for people who make the best of the way things turn out. -- John Wooden |
|
|||
|
Awarding an unmerited free throw is a correctable error. Fix it within the usual time-frame for correctable errors, including removing points from unmerited free-throws..
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
|
Huh?
This isn't a correctable error. Once the inbounds is completed, I don't know of any rule that allows us to correct it, whether its from a foul, violation or made basket. If you have a rule reference, I'd like to have it so I could read it and improve my understanding.
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association Multicounty Softball Association Multicounty Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
|
For Coaches, And Fanboys, Without Casebooks ...
just another ref: Good citation.
*10.1.8 SITUATION: Immediately following a goal or free throw by Team A, A1 inbounds the ball to A2 and A2 subsequently throws the ball through A’s basket. RULING: The following procedure has been adopted to handle this specific situationif it is recognized before the opponents gain control or before the next throw-in begins: (a) charge Team A with an unsporting technical foul; (b) assess a delay-of-game warning for interfering with the ball after a goal; (c) cancel the field goal; (d) cancel any common foul(s) committed and any non-flagrant foul against A2 in the act of shooting; and (e) put “consumed” time back on the clock. COMMENT: If there is no doubt the throw-in was a result of confusion, the entire procedure would be followed except no unsporting team technical foul would be charged. A team technical would be assessed if the team had received a previous delay warning. This procedure shall not be used in any other throw-in situation in which a mistake allows the wrong team to inbound the ball. (4-47-3; 10-1-5d)
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
But I would not take this back as once the ball is in play we cannot fix it. I will also give the coach a bit more rope than I might normally as I clearly kicked it and I will allow him to vent a bit extra within reason. This has never happened to me and I dont plan on it. But in times when I have screwed up and a coach asks me I tell him that I think I kicked it. If it really hurt him a lot then he will let me know that he's upset, and none have ever crossed the line. But the admission of fault usually is taken with an understanding tone from coaches. Of course I only screw up once! I try and be honest with coaches whenever I can but thats just me personally and I DONT expect the same in return from them.
__________________
in OS I trust |
|
|||
|
I learned something new today!
Quote:
Thanks for posting this. I was going to have to wait until I got home to look this up.
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association Multicounty Softball Association Multicounty Basketball Officials Association |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Ball to the wrong team | jmaellis | Basketball | 9 | Thu Jan 24, 2008 08:16am |
| Throw-In by Wrong Team | Sven | Basketball | 4 | Mon Feb 06, 2006 11:28am |
| Wrong team gets ball | Jim Henry | Basketball | 38 | Thu Nov 03, 2005 12:34am |
| Wrong team throws in | ReadyToRef | Basketball | 1 | Wed Apr 17, 2002 08:44am |
| Wrong team inbounding | ReadyToRef | Basketball | 14 | Tue Apr 02, 2002 10:06pm |