The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 22, 2008, 01:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 63
What was i thinking??

Last Friday I had a game between two well coached good girls teams. 2 team has won the state tournament 2 out of the past 3 years, the other has gone deep into the play offs the past few years. Both teams figure to again go deep into the play offs.

1 minute into the game, I am trail, ball stolen up top I run down and get a good angle. Defense gets to her spot, and stops, arms straight up. offensive girl does a nice jump stop, jumps to the side of the defender, brushing her right side...defender steps back maybe 5 inches.

*TWEET*....i think to myself......oh crap...

it's not a charge, and it isn't a block.....I was lost. Seemed like it took forever, but for some reason I call a block. Coach wasn't happy. I walk up to him and tell him, Coach, i blew it. There was no foul, I am sorry.

He says, Okay, and doesn't say another word about it the rest of the night.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 22, 2008, 01:38pm
Ch1town
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Honesty is the best policy, but when it happens one minute in... you have to be on your A game for the rest of the night.

I guess it's better to get it out the way early, than to make it a gamer
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 22, 2008, 01:38pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Good time for an IW.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 22, 2008, 03:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 63
Snaq,

My partner and i talked about that after the game. we figured it probably would have been the best course of action to call an IW. Tell both coaches i had my head up my butt and go to the arrow. The ball had been shot so there was no longer team possession when I blew the whistle.

I think i shocked myself with the fact that I blew my whistle.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 22, 2008, 03:45pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rock Chalk View Post
Snaq,

My partner and i talked about that after the game. we figured it probably would have been the best course of action to call an IW. Tell both coaches i had my head up my butt and go to the arrow. The ball had been shot so there was no longer team possession when I blew the whistle.

I think i shocked myself with the fact that I blew my whistle.
Did the shot miss? Either way, I think eating an IW there would have been less messy than eating a bad foul call.

Live and learn, my friend.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 22, 2008, 03:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 215
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rock Chalk View Post
Snaq,

My partner and i talked about that after the game. we figured it probably would have been the best course of action to call an IW. Tell both coaches i had my head up my butt and go to the arrow. The ball had been shot so there was no longer team possession when I blew the whistle.

I think i shocked myself with the fact that I blew my whistle.
Wait a sec...so you told the coach there was no foul...and reported a foul anyway???? This whole time I assumed you had gone with an IW after you told the coach...That just isn't right:

(to coach): Coach, I blew it...there was no foul. Sorry.
(turns to table): Red two-three. Block. 2 shots.

Ouch...

You're lucky you got a sympathetic coach. I would think most of them would chew you out the rest of the night...
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 22, 2008, 04:01pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
I'm pretty sure he reported the foul first, then later told the coach it was a mistake.

But you're right, I'd rather tell a coach I screwed up and didn't see a foul that he did than tell him I didn't see a foul but called one anyway. I probably would have admitted to him I'd like to have the call back, not sure how much more info I would have offered.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 22, 2008, 04:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 215
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
I'm pretty sure he reported the foul first, then later told the coach it was a mistake.
That might even be funnier:

(to table): Red two-three. Block. 2 shots.
(turns to coach): Coach, I blew it...there was no foul. Sorry.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 22, 2008, 05:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 63
It is funny now, but at the time I was not happy with myself. I blew it. Plain and simple. the coach was just fine when I told him I blew the call. I guess I"ll learn from this and next time go with an IW.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 22, 2008, 05:23pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by ma_ref View Post
That might even be funnier:

(to table): Red two-three. Block. 2 shots.
(turns to coach): Coach, I blew it...there was no foul. Sorry.
I'm assuming more time elapsed, but I could be wrong.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 22, 2008, 05:34pm
BLS BLS is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Central IL
Posts: 27
IW Question

Does an IW cause the ball to become dead immediately? In the OP, if the IW came after A1 started the motion for a try, and the ball went in, can you count the basket and just give the ball to B?

Or, is the ball dead immediately, and you have to go to AP since neither team had control at the time of the whistle?
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 22, 2008, 05:43pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by BLS View Post
Does an IW cause the ball to become dead immediately? In the OP, if the IW came after A1 started the motion for a try, and the ball went in, can you count the basket and just give the ball to B?

Or, is the ball dead immediately, and you have to go to AP since neither team had control at the time of the whistle?
The ball is dead immediately, unless a try is already in the air. Habitual motion does not apply.

So, if the try had been released, and the shot is made, POI (which you always go to on an IW) would be the endline throwin for B.

If the try had been released and the shot missed, you go to the arrow.

If the try had not been released, you give the ball back to A.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 22, 2008, 06:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 1,955
We've all had an IW at a really inconvenient time. Just tell them what it is and keep going. That's the best way.
__________________
That's my whistle -- and I'm sticking to it!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 22, 2008, 09:20pm
#thereferee99
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 624
Had something similar... and partner had a plan.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rock Chalk View Post
Last Friday I had a game between two well coached good girls teams. 2 team has won the state tournament 2 out of the past 3 years, the other has gone deep into the play offs the past few years. Both teams figure to again go deep into the play offs.

1 minute into the game, I am trail, ball stolen up top I run down and get a good angle. Defense gets to her spot, and stops, arms straight up. offensive girl does a nice jump stop, jumps to the side of the defender, brushing her right side...defender steps back maybe 5 inches.

*TWEET*....i think to myself......oh crap...

it's not a charge, and it isn't a block.....I was lost. Seemed like it took forever, but for some reason I call a block. Coach wasn't happy. I walk up to him and tell him, Coach, i blew it. There was no foul, I am sorry.

He says, Okay, and doesn't say another word about it the rest of the night.
I'm at a school where I've never officiated before. They have 18" solid color around the court indicating out-of-bounds. The problem is there is a visual explosion of intersecting and parallel lines near the endlines. They have court lines from the perpendicular court and some other stuff as well. I was having a hard time getting comfortable with it.

Anyways, about 3 minutes in I'm lead, Blue team passes ball to a player just below free throw extended on my side. I slide out (he's near sideline) and then he drives right. I have a great look at both players, peripherally I clearly see him step on the line, blow the whistle, and I knew right away I had made a mistake.

I went with IW, ball to Team Blue on the endline. Coach of the JV team was in the stands, says the same thing had happened in the previous game (small consolation). Later at a break, my partner says his approach is go with out-of-bounds (even though the 'wrong' line is 18" on to the court) and then quickly get something going the other way (make up call). I nod, and say that I get it. His reasoning is that by admitting your mistake there you have given both teams ammunition to question every call from then on.

I say, fess up, get it as right as you can and proceed from there.
__________________
-- #thereferee99
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 22, 2008, 09:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: SW Kansas
Posts: 728
Quote:
Originally Posted by referee99 View Post
Later at a break, my partner says his approach is go with out-of-bounds (even though the 'wrong' line is 18" on to the court) and then quickly get something going the other way (make up call). I nod, and say that I get it. His reasoning is that by admitting your mistake there you have given both teams ammunition to question every call from then on.

I say, fess up, get it as right as you can and proceed from there.
Your partner's in la la land.

IW, POI. Mistakes happen, and this one is easily corrected.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Got me thinking UmpTTS43 Baseball 32 Thu Aug 14, 2008 02:58pm
What was I thinking???? Andy Softball 11 Tue Jul 22, 2008 06:34am
What were they thinking?? NCASAUmp Softball 2 Thu Apr 12, 2007 12:34pm
Thinking... brandan89 Baseball 2 Tue Mar 01, 2005 09:15am
Thinking this through Dudly Basketball 4 Tue Aug 31, 2004 04:52pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:12am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1