The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 20, 2008, 10:09am
#thereferee99
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 624
After the coach is gone...

In regards to previous post about pre-game dunking.

3 dunks in warmups - 2 by A12 and 1 by A55.

Two player technical fouls on A12 who is now disqualified.
A player technical foul on A55.

Coach is disqualified due to 3 indirects.

Team B starts game with 6 free throws and the ball at the division line opposite table. Arrow set to Team A

All good.

Assistant Coach A takes over the helm for departed Coach A.

My questions are these:
Is Asst. Coach A now the 'head coach' for rules purposes?
Does Asst. Coach A have coaching box privileges?

What do you do if nervous, potentially unaware Asst. Coach A sends (disqualified) A12 to report to the table later in the game?
__________________
-- #thereferee99

Last edited by referee99; Sat Dec 20, 2008 at 11:24am. Reason: knuckleheadedness
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 20, 2008, 10:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,032
Is Asst. Coach A now the 'head coach' for rules purposes? Not sure
Does Asst. Coach A have coaching box privileges? NO

What do you do if nervous, potentially unaware Asst. Coach A sends (disqualified) A12 to report to the table later in the game? Send A12 back to the bench 10.5.3

Last edited by Indianaref; Sat Dec 20, 2008 at 10:20am.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 20, 2008, 11:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,090
Quote:
Originally Posted by referee99 View Post
Two personal technical fouls on A12 who is now disqualified.
A personal technical foul on A55.
What's a "personal technical foul?"

Quote:
My questions are these:
Is Asst. Coach A now the 'head coach' for rules purposes?
Does Asst. Coach A have coaching box privileges?

What do you do if nervous, potentially unaware Asst. Coach A sends (disqualified) A12 to report to the table later in the game?
Yes.

No.

If you can get A12 back to the bench, do so. If s/he enters the game, then it's a dircet T on the asst. coach.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 20, 2008, 11:22am
#thereferee99
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 624
10.5.3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Indianaref View Post
Is Asst. Coach A now the 'head coach' for rules purposes? Not sure
Does Asst. Coach A have coaching box privileges? NO

What do you do if nervous, potentially unaware Asst. Coach A sends (disqualified) A12 to report to the table later in the game? Send A12 back to the bench 10.5.3
10.5.3 refers to the Head Coach. Our Asst. Coach is not the head coach, right?
So, by rule there can be no penalty here, even if player A12 makes it onto the floor, due to lack of awareness of his disqualified status.

Only option is to send player back to the bench.

Also, since there is no Head Coach, none of the actions described in 10.5.1 can be undertaken by our Asst. Coach? Specifically, 10.5.1(c) The head coach may stand and/or leave the coaching box to confer with personnel at the scorer's table to requst a time-out as in 5-8-4.

5-8-4 Time out occurs and the clock, if running, shall be stopped when an official: Responds to the scorer's signal to grant a coach's request that a correctable error, as in 2-10, or a timeing, scoring or alternating-possession mistake be prevented or rectified. The appeal to the official shall be presented at the scorer's table where a coach of each team may be present.
__________________
-- #thereferee99
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 20, 2008, 11:28am
#thereferee99
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 624
Fixed. Clarified.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
What's a "personal technical foul?"
Due to the miracle of modern technology, that mistake never happened. "Player Technical Foul

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Yes.

No.

If you can get A12 back to the bench, do so. If s/he enters the game, then it's a direct T on the asst. coach.
This makes a lot more sense. Asst. Coach is now Head Coach with seat belt. In the OP would you talk to Asst. and inform him of seat belt and his status?
__________________
-- #thereferee99
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 20, 2008, 11:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,090
Quote:
Originally Posted by referee99 View Post
Due to the miracle of modern technology, that mistake never happened. "Player Technical Foul



This makes a lot more sense. Asst. Coach is now Head Coach with seat belt. In the OP would you talk to Asst. and inform him of seat belt and his status?
Probably.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 20, 2008, 12:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,499
i hope this didnt happen....
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 20, 2008, 01:43pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by referee99 View Post
10.5.3 refers to the Head Coach. Our Asst. Coach is not the head coach, right?
So, by rule there can be no penalty here, even if player A12 makes it onto the floor, due to lack of awareness of his disqualified status.

Only option is to send player back to the bench.

Also, since there is no Head Coach, none of the actions described in 10.5.1 can be undertaken by our Asst. Coach? Specifically, 10.5.1(c) The head coach may stand and/or leave the coaching box to confer with personnel at the scorer's table to requst a time-out as in 5-8-4.
I disagree. There are too many HC responsibilities to let the game continue without someone to do it.
1. Requesting timeouts from the bench. By your reasoning, it can't be done all game after the OP sitch.
2. Responsibility for the behavior of bench pesonnel. No one to charge an indirect T to when B24 pops off at the end of the bench.
3. Correctible errors. Unless you claim HC's disqualification precludes the team from correcting errors. Personally, I highly doubt this is the Fed's intent.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 20, 2008, 03:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 552
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
I disagree. There are too many HC responsibilities to let the game continue without someone to do it.
1. Requesting timeouts from the bench. By your reasoning, it can't be done all game after the OP sitch.
2. Responsibility for the behavior of bench pesonnel. No one to charge an indirect T to when B24 pops off at the end of the bench.
3. Correctible errors. Unless you claim HC's disqualification precludes the team from correcting errors. Personally, I highly doubt this is the Fed's intent.
Good points, although I don't see a problem with #1...
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 20, 2008, 07:34pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 17,834
Assistant/Head Coach ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
No. (Coaching Box)
I agree, but would like a citaiton please.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

I was in prison and you came to visit me. (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 20, 2008, 08:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,762
There is always a person acting as coach. Anyone else is just bench personnel. When the acting head coach is required to leave the game (DQ'd, injury, sickness, etc.), someone else becomes head coach. The current/acting head coach has all rights and restrictions of the position. Any restrictions imposed (coaching box/seat belt) apply to the position of head coach, not to the person acting as head coach....and, thus, apply to anyone who assumes the head coaching duties.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 20, 2008, 08:06pm
Ch1town
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I cant find anything, but you would think the intent would only allow for 1 coaching box per team, per game. The HC forfeited the assistants right to stand. What if the assistant gets run too? The trainer now acting as HC gets to stand?
Yeah, I could sell that

Last edited by Ch1town; Sat Dec 20, 2008 at 08:08pm.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 20, 2008, 08:14pm
In Time Out
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 794
question on hanging on the rim during warmups- I assume same as dunking? Guy not trying to dunk just jumping up and hanging on the rim. T?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 20, 2008, 09:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,090
Quote:
Originally Posted by mutantducky View Post
question on hanging on the rim during warmups- I assume same as dunking? Guy not trying to dunk just jumping up and hanging on the rim. T?
Of course. Same rule in the book, iirc.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 21, 2008, 06:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,486
Billy, you really have to start checking the past Interps archive!

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
No. (Coaching Box)


I agree, but would like a citaiton please.
You already have it. You just aren't looking in the right place.

2001-02 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations

SITUATION 9: At the end of their pre-game warm-up, players A1, A4, A5, A9 each dunk the ball and subsequently leave the floor and go to their dressing room. RULING: A technical foul is assessed to each player. The game starts with eight (8) free throws (2 for each of the technical fouls) and the ball is awarded to B at the division line opposite the table. Four team fouls toward the bonus are assessed to A. The head coach of A is assessed an indirect technical foul for each offense (4) and is subsequently ejected from the contest. Any coach assuming the responsibilities of the head coach for the game would not have the use of the coaching box. (10-3-5; 10-5 Pen)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Coach goes after visiting coach texaspaul Basketball 2 Mon Jan 14, 2008 10:17pm
Bad coach, good coach BuggBob Softball 21 Wed Jul 11, 2007 06:54pm
Foul B1 , T on coach, another T and coach exits jritchie Basketball 15 Wed Nov 08, 2006 09:02pm
Coach goes after ref Jimgolf Basketball 13 Thu Feb 17, 2005 12:57pm
New coach JCoach31 Basketball 12 Thu Jan 31, 2002 08:57pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:57pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1