![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
No. If you can get A12 back to the bench, do so. If s/he enters the game, then it's a dircet T on the asst. coach. |
|
|||
|
Fixed. Clarified.
Due to the miracle of modern technology, that mistake never happened. "Player Technical Foul
This makes a lot more sense. Asst. Coach is now Head Coach with seat belt. In the OP would you talk to Asst. and inform him of seat belt and his status?
__________________
-- #thereferee99 |
|
|||
|
Probably.
|
|
|||
|
Assistant/Head Coach ???
I agree, but would like a citaiton please.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
|
There is always a person acting as coach. Anyone else is just bench personnel. When the acting head coach is required to leave the game (DQ'd, injury, sickness, etc.), someone else becomes head coach. The current/acting head coach has all rights and restrictions of the position. Any restrictions imposed (coaching box/seat belt) apply to the position of head coach, not to the person acting as head coach....and, thus, apply to anyone who assumes the head coaching duties.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
I cant find anything, but you would think the intent would only allow for 1 coaching box per team, per game. The HC forfeited the assistants right to stand. What if the assistant gets run too? The trainer now acting as HC gets to stand?
Yeah, I could sell that
Last edited by Ch1town; Sat Dec 20, 2008 at 08:08pm. |
|
|||
|
Of course. Same rule in the book, iirc.
|
|
|||
|
Billy, you really have to start checking the past Interps archive!
Quote:
![]() 2001-02 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations SITUATION 9: At the end of their pre-game warm-up, players A1, A4, A5, A9 each dunk the ball and subsequently leave the floor and go to their dressing room. RULING: A technical foul is assessed to each player. The game starts with eight (8) free throws (2 for each of the technical fouls) and the ball is awarded to B at the division line opposite the table. Four team fouls toward the bonus are assessed to A. The head coach of A is assessed an indirect technical foul for each offense (4) and is subsequently ejected from the contest. Any coach assuming the responsibilities of the head coach for the game would not have the use of the coaching box. (10-3-5; 10-5 Pen) |
|
|||
|
And I haven't finished my Christmas shopping yet ...
Yeah. Sure. The interpretation is seven years old. I haven't even had time to go over my corrected IAABO Refresher Exam yet (not looking forward to it), or to look over my notes from a three-person clinic (our local board may be using it for some games this season), and you want me to look back at interpretations from seven years ago? That sounds like good summer reading. Unlike you, I don't have a part of my brain that's only for past interpretations.
P.S. I hope the moderators give us some advance notice before they delete the sticky thread on past interpretations. I haven't saved these to a flash drive yet.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Coach goes after visiting coach | texaspaul | Basketball | 2 | Mon Jan 14, 2008 10:17pm |
| Bad coach, good coach | BuggBob | Softball | 21 | Wed Jul 11, 2007 06:54pm |
| Foul B1 , T on coach, another T and coach exits | jritchie | Basketball | 15 | Wed Nov 08, 2006 09:02pm |
| Coach goes after ref | Jimgolf | Basketball | 13 | Thu Feb 17, 2005 12:57pm |
| New coach | JCoach31 | Basketball | 12 | Thu Jan 31, 2002 08:57pm |