The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 20, 2008, 01:22am
sj sj is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 359
Technical situation

Had this one tonight. A1 is at the free throw line and is holding (no shooting motion had started) the ball for the first of two free throws. All of a sudden the horn blows and B6 sprints onto the floor. I didn't beckon him so we have a no-brainer technical. I blow my whistle, take care of the book, we clear the lane to shoot the first two and then the two for the technical. No problems but it's been bugging me that maybe A1 should have got to go ahead and shoot the first free throw. And then if he missed to re-shoot the first one again. All I can find is that the technical, and of course my whistle, both would make the ball dead. But what about A1 getting the 'free' free throw. Violations do this but I couldn't find anywhere where a technical like this would give him the right to shoot it. Anybody have any thoughts on this?

Last edited by sj; Sat Dec 20, 2008 at 01:31am.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 20, 2008, 01:50am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by sj View Post
Had this one tonight. A1 is at the free throw line and is holding (no shooting motion had started) the ball for the first of two free throws. All of a sudden the horn blows and B6 sprints onto the floor. I didn't beckon him so we have a no-brainer technical. I blow my whistle, take care of the book, we clear the lane to shoot the first two and then the two for the technical. No problems but it's been bugging me that maybe A1 should have got to go ahead and shoot the first free throw. And then if he missed to re-shoot the first one again. All I can find is that the technical, and of course my whistle, both would make the ball dead. But what about A1 getting the 'free' free throw. Violations do this but I couldn't find anywhere where a technical like this would give him the right to shoot it. Anybody have any thoughts on this?
B6 did not commit a violation, the retry is strictly done on free throw violations. Blow it dead and let everyone settle in again.

Think of it this way, if instead of B6 running on, B4 had fouled A2 along the lane, you would have blown it dead. Same deal with a T.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 20, 2008, 05:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,465
Read 6-7 in the Rules book and Case book.

Read up on continuous motion.

If the shooting motion has begun and the opponent commits a foul continuous motion applys. The ball remains live and the thrower is permitted to finish the try for goal (FT included). However, if the attempt is unsuccessful there is no substitute throw.

If the shooting motion hasn't begun, which is what you stated, then the ball is dead immediately when the foul occurs whether the player was preparing to attempt a try for goal or a FT. It doesn't matter. The FT will be attempted after dealing with the foul call.

You did it 100% right. Nice work.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 21, 2008, 02:10pm
sj sj is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 359
Fortunately it didn't start to bug me until after the administration of the technical was over with. I can see that he shouldn't get to shoot but it seems like a similar situation as when there is a violation as he's allowed to go ahead and shoot with a violation but not with a technical foul. For some reason thought the rules makers distinguish a difference. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 21, 2008, 03:14pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by sj View Post
Fortunately it didn't start to bug me until after the administration of the technical was over with. I can see that he shouldn't get to shoot but it seems like a similar situation as when there is a violation as he's allowed to go ahead and shoot with a violation but not with a technical foul. For some reason thought the rules makers distinguish a difference. Thanks.
Yep, the best way to disconcert the shooter is to foul one of his teammates.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Double technical situation. Jerry Blum Basketball 4 Fri Feb 10, 2006 09:25am
technical foul situation????? robinson31ir Basketball 6 Fri Feb 18, 2005 10:03pm
technical situation following regulation jpdennem Basketball 3 Thu Mar 28, 2002 08:54am
Technical situation - no pun intended :) OPTIPLEX2001 Basketball 9 Tue Jan 23, 2001 03:52pm
Technical Situation Tom Cook Basketball 21 Wed Apr 26, 2000 04:29pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:11am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1