![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
no violation or penalty. Coach can have 15 in the book and 5 on the bench if he wants. when the kid shows up he can play with no penalty. Its the other way around that is the problem. If he only puts nine in the book and a tenth shows up... it is a T when that player enters the game.
|
|
|||
|
To pick nits..
Quote:
The penalty is a Team Technical. The sitch you describe should lead to the T.
__________________
-- #thereferee99 |
|
|||
|
NCAA contradicts
the NCAA rule says that all players who May participate must be in the book and the starters designated in 3-3-1 then specifically designates the violation consequnces if not done in 3-3-2.
the Fed rules say At least 10 minutes before the scheduled starting time, each team shall supply the scorers with the name and number of each team member and designate the five starting players. 3-2-1. 3-2-2 designates violation consequnces if not done So that question or reference is contrary to the written rule, the way I read it the missing play May participate if they get there and the Fed isn't real specific about players they want each team member in the book. Could a member get some clarification as to how they come up with that interpretaion of the rule, it isn't like it is FIBBY or anything.
__________________
New and improved: if it's new it's not improved; if it's improved it's not new. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Rule 3 Section 3. Lineup Art. 1. Before the 10-minute mark is reached on the game clock that is counting down the time before the start of the game, each team shall supply the scorers with names and uniform numbers of squad members who may participate, and those of the five starting players. Quote:
![]() All that I can tell you is that the rules require each team member to be listed on the roster that the scorer receives. It is the scorer's job to write that info into the official book. If someone isn't listed on the supplied roster, then it will be a team technical foul if and when that individual participates. It's really that simple. Last edited by Nevadaref; Thu Dec 18, 2008 at 11:07am. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
You wrote, "it is a T when that player enters the game."
He said that he was picking a nit. He was pointing out that the T may not occur at that time. The scorer may not notice until that individual fouls or scores a basket. The scorer might fail to notify the officials upon entry, so the T will occur when the problem is noticed and when the book is changed as the rule says. Also, to pick another nit... a "player" wouldn't be entering the game. Players are those who are in the game.
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| ruling? | xxssmen | Basketball | 3 | Tue Feb 08, 2005 11:44am |
| Ruling | WinterWillie | Softball | 8 | Tue Feb 24, 2004 12:25pm |
| What would be the ruling here? | swordfish | Football | 7 | Fri Jan 30, 2004 08:00am |
| What is the Ruling? | Metrodom | Basketball | 15 | Mon Jan 26, 2004 08:43pm |
| Ruling? | Scotto | Baseball | 4 | Fri Nov 14, 2003 07:16pm |