|  | 
| 
 | |||
| 
				
				Another backcouirt question
			  Player A1 has ball in front court ,  player B1 slaps ball away ,  ensuing scrum leaves ball in player B1's posession (still in A's frontcourt ) ,  just after B1 has posession A2 deflects ball away from B1 to team A's backcourt.   Player A3 retrieves ball from the backcourt and is called for backcourt violation. A fellow parent told me of this and had " commented " to the official about posession and the official commented back that the ball was still in A's posession. I have talked with a fellow official and we have went back and forth,,,,,,,, unfortunately I think the answer is right in front of me and I'm not seeing it. Thanks ps At least I'm educating my fellow parents ........... they aren't commenting 3 SECONDS, 3 SECONDS. Tip | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			I suppose the ref thought the ball had never gone to B and because A was the last to touch it in the frontcourt it was backcourt once A got the ball. If B did have possession which you write then no it should not have been backcourt.
		 | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 Did A have team control? No - no violation. | 
| 
 | |||
|   
			
			Team A had control initially ( start of thread ) , prior to all of the deflections.  The last deflection by A2 that ended up in the backcourt was a deflection (slapped the ball away from B1). The official who called the violation also works college games ..... didn't know if there is a difference in the ruling. Thanks for the help Tip | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			Whoa, RT. You first write that B retained possession. As noted above by others, if B gets possession, there's no b/c violation for A. But now if you're just saying it was pinball time, and only deflections all around, we have a different ballgame.
		 | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 Reftip, the word you used was possession. What did you mean by that? | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			Just got back from a game and talked with the parent again .   He said that player B retreived the ball and held the ball for about  second or so then player A2 "slapped " it away.   The ball then went from front court of A to  back court .  Tip | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
   | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
   
				__________________ Yom HaShoah | 
| 
 | ||||
| Quote: 
 Also, did this official respond during the game? That's a no-no. Did he respond to the parent during a dead ball? Also a no-no. 
				__________________ Sprinkles are for winners. | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			He responded as he was running down the court.     Thanks all for the responses .............. I'll encourage the parent to keep it down. Last year I was able to convince two parents to get licensed and they are now in their first year. Tip | 
|  | 
| Bookmarks | 
| 
 |  | 
|  Similar Threads | ||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post | 
| A question on a play and a mechanics question. | aevans410 | Baseball | 11 | Mon May 12, 2008 09:23am | 
| two questions - start of half question and free throw question | hoopguy | Basketball | 6 | Wed Mar 28, 2007 11:12pm | 
| Rule Question and Mechanics Question | Stair-Climber | Softball | 15 | Fri May 06, 2005 06:44am | 
| Over the back Question? Sorry mistyped my first question | CoaachJF | Basketball | 15 | Thu Feb 27, 2003 03:18pm |