The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 16, 2008, 12:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 350
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
A team technical foul is charged if recognized by an official before the ball becomes live following the first dead ball.
OK question - I had a game last Friday night - two pathetic teams GV. I'm at lead underneath table side when the ball goes OOBs at the table. Team B subs and I see C coming over taking care of it. I watch the players in the post mulling around then catch the ball being inbounded from the corner of my eye. Girls on team B start looking around at each other....pass the ball a couple times....then one of them runs off the court to the bench. Crap - 6 players!

Obviously, neither C nor T counted prior to putting the ball at the disposal of the inbounder. I didn't notice what was going on until the player was off the court on the bench.

Could/should I have a T in that situation, even though it was not noticed until after the occurance? I had a pep talk with the 'ol partners between quarters and told them to retrieve their heads from their nether regions, but I'm still miffed that such a silly thing happened in my game.
__________________
If it's a foul on that end, IT'S GOTTA BE A FOUL ON THIS END!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 16, 2008, 12:53am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by derwil View Post
OK question - I had a game last Friday night - two pathetic teams GV. I'm at lead underneath table side when the ball goes OOBs at the table. Team B subs and I see C coming over taking care of it. I watch the players in the post mulling around then catch the ball being inbounded from the corner of my eye. Girls on team B start looking around at each other....pass the ball a couple times....then one of them runs off the court to the bench. Crap - 6 players!

Obviously, neither C nor T counted prior to putting the ball at the disposal of the inbounder. I didn't notice what was going on until the player was off the court on the bench.

Could/should I have a T in that situation, even though it was not noticed until after the occurance? I had a pep talk with the 'ol partners between quarters and told them to retrieve their heads from their nether regions, but I'm still miffed that such a silly thing happened in my game.
If you see one run off the court, and five still remain, that is discovered while being violated in my book. A technical is appropriate.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 16, 2008, 12:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
If you see one run off the court, and five still remain, that is discovered while being violated in my book. A technical is appropriate.
I have the same opinion. You saw the sixth person out there. Whack.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Another Back Court Question FishinRef Basketball 24 Tue Dec 05, 2006 08:30pm
Another back court question dsturdy5 Basketball 13 Mon Jun 06, 2005 09:10am
Another back court question Jay R Basketball 11 Sun Oct 17, 2004 11:25pm
another back court question walter Basketball 44 Fri Jun 30, 2000 08:57am
Another back court question BSL Basketball 10 Mon Dec 06, 1999 03:33pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:14am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1