The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 15, 2008, 04:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
10-1-6: A team shall not have more than five members participating simultaneously.

Penalized if discovered while being violated.

The gray area is the definition of participating. Some say there is no penalty if the discovery is made during a dead ball. Others, myself included, disagree.
I disagree with your disagreement.

How can a team member be participating during a dead ball? This must be noticed by an official while the rule is being violated, not after, and for that to happen the ball must be live.

Last edited by Nevadaref; Mon Dec 15, 2008 at 04:24am.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 15, 2008, 04:23am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post

How can a team member be participating during a dead ball?
When a team is setting up for the next play, I consider that to be participating.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 15, 2008, 04:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
When a team is setting up for the next play, I consider that to be participating.
The NFHS does not. Do you want examples of "participating" from the NFHS books?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 15, 2008, 04:29am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
The NFHS does not. Do you want examples of "participating" from the NFHS books?
Yeah, let's hear 'em.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 15, 2008, 05:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
The NFHS does not. Do you want examples of "participating" from the NFHS books?
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Yeah, let's hear 'em.
The NFHS uses the word "participate" in a couple of ways. Unfortunately, the usage is not precise and one has to know from context what the NFHS is saying. It basically means to become a player or to engage in game activity. Sitting on the bench or checking in at the scorer's table definitely do not qualify as participation.

However, coming out onto the floor in an attempt to enter the game is a gray area. Sometimes it qualifies and sometimes it doesn't. The difference comes down to whether or not the entry was legal. If it was then, the team member is a player and has participated. If not, then the team member is NOT a player and has not participated.

There are several examples in both the rules and case books involving participation, but the most pertinent one for the situation we are discussing is the following:

10.5.3 SITUATION:
A5 has just received his/her fifth foul of the game. A5 (a) is erroneously permitted to remain in the game for another two minutes before the scorer realizes the mistake; or (b) leaves the game after the coach is notified of the disqualification. At the intermission between the third and fourth quarter, A5 reports as a substitute and subsequently enters the game.
RULING: In (a), as soon as the error is discovered, the player is removed from the game, no penalties are assessed. In (b), A5 will not actually "participate" until the ball becomes live. If detected prior to the ball becoming live, A5 would be directed to the bench and no penalty assessed unless the official deemed it was a deliberate attempt to circumvent the rules. If detected after the ball becomes live, it is a technical foul charged directly to the head coach. The player is immediately removed from the game and Team B is awarded two free throws and the ball. (2-11-5 Note 2)

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 15, 2008, 07:11am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,404
Oh Boy, I Get To Use My Study Guide ...

Penalized if discovered while being violated: A team shall not have more than five team members participating simultaneously. Team technical foul. A team technical foul is charged if recognized by an official before the ball becomes live following the first dead ball. If it was not recognized by either official, but was called to their attention after the ball became live following the first dead ball, it is too late to assess any penalty.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 15, 2008, 07:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Penalized if discovered while being violated: A team shall not have more than five team members participating simultaneously. Team technical foul. A team technical foul is charged if recognized by an official before the ball becomes live following the first dead ball. If it was not recognized by either official, but was called to their attention after the ball became live following the first dead ball, it is too late to assess any penalty.
That is probably the latest that one could assess the technical, but the infraction must be recognized well before that. Your statement makes it sound as if the official can recognize and penalize the offense during the dead ball period. That's simply not the case.

Last edited by Nevadaref; Mon Dec 15, 2008 at 07:29am.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 15, 2008, 09:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Penalized if discovered while being violated: A team shall not have more than five team members participating simultaneously. Team technical foul. A team technical foul is charged if recognized by an official before the ball becomes live following the first dead ball. If it was not recognized by either official, but was called to their attention after the ball became live following the first dead ball, it is too late to assess any penalty.
10.1.6 SITUATION: With Team A leading 51 to 50, a held ball is called. A6 properly reports and enters the game. Time is then called by Team A. The clock shows two seconds remaining in the game. After play is resumed by a throw-in, the officials do not notice Team A has six players on the court. Following the throw-in, time expires. Team B now reports to the officials that Team A had six players on the court. RULING: Since it was not recognized by either official, but was called to their attention after time had expired, it is too late to assess any penalty.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 15, 2008, 02:24pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
The NFHS uses the word "participate" in a couple of ways. Unfortunately, the usage is not precise and one has to know from context what the NFHS is saying. It basically means to become a player or to engage in game activity. Sitting on the bench or checking in at the scorer's table definitely do not qualify as participation.

However, coming out onto the floor in an attempt to enter the game is a gray area. Sometimes it qualifies and sometimes it doesn't. The difference comes down to whether or not the entry was legal. If it was then, the team member is a player and has participated. If not, then the team member is NOT a player and has not participated.
4-34-5: (again) If entry is not legal, the substitute becomes a player when the ball becomes live.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 15, 2008, 07:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
4-34-5: (again) If entry is not legal, the substitute becomes a player when the ball becomes live.
My comment was in the context of BEFORE the ball becomes live.

Also, there is a cap on the number of players. It cannot ever exceed five.

Case Play 10.1.6 is an example of sloppy writing. The author used imprecise terminology.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 15, 2008, 04:28am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
More food for thought. Team A has 6 players on the court. B1 commits a foul on A1. A1 takes exception and a fight breaks out. All 6 players from team A participate in the fight. Does the coach get an indirect T in this case?
I don't see how.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 15, 2008, 04:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
More food for thought. Team A has 6 players on the court. B1 commits a foul on A1. A1 takes exception and a fight breaks out. All 6 players from team A participate in the fight. Does the coach get an indirect T in this case?
I don't see how.
First one must understand the nuances of the rules.

1. It is illegal for a team to have more than five TEAM MEMBERS participating at the same time.

2. 4-34-1 defines the term "player." "A player is one of five team members who are legally on the court at any given time, except intermission."

Now we can tackle your situation. The team doesn't have six players on the court. That is impossible by definition. It has five players and one other team member.

Therefore, the coach would indeed be charged with one indirect technical foul for the team member who participated in the fight and was not a player.

Last edited by Nevadaref; Mon Dec 15, 2008 at 05:18am.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 15, 2008, 02:18pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post

Now we can tackle your situation. The team doesn't have six players on the court. That is impossible by definition. It has five players and one other team member.

4-34-3: A substitute becomes a player when he legally enters the court. If entry is not legal, the substitute becomes a player when the ball becomes live.

So which of the 6 guys on the court is not a player?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 15, 2008, 02:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
4-34-3: A substitute becomes a player when he legally enters the court. If entry is not legal, the substitute becomes a player when the ball becomes live.

So which of the 6 guys on the court is not a player?
The player the sub was supposed to replace.

But, what does it really matter? It's a team T.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Another Back Court Question FishinRef Basketball 24 Tue Dec 05, 2006 08:30pm
Another back court question dsturdy5 Basketball 13 Mon Jun 06, 2005 09:10am
Another back court question Jay R Basketball 11 Sun Oct 17, 2004 11:25pm
another back court question walter Basketball 44 Fri Jun 30, 2000 08:57am
Another back court question BSL Basketball 10 Mon Dec 06, 1999 03:33pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:48am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1