The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 14, 2008, 05:09pm
In Time Out
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 67
Delay Penality

Team A has one delay warning for water on the floor after a 30 To. Late in the game Player A1 scores a layup and hits the ball away from Team B so they can set up the press. T foul. Correct. Does this go on the player or is it a admin foul?????
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 14, 2008, 05:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 187
Since they have been warned all ready the T is the correct call, it counts towards the team total, not personal.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 14, 2008, 05:21pm
In Time Out
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 67
So this would not be a T on the player, only on the team?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 14, 2008, 05:49pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 29,581
Yes.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 14, 2008, 05:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 58
How does this affect the head coach?

Does a technical foul for a delay put the seatbelt on the head coach?
__________________
Brian
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 14, 2008, 06:09pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 29,581
Quote:
Originally Posted by VTOfficial View Post
Does a technical foul for a delay put the seatbelt on the head coach?
No Team Technical Fouls have anything to do directly or indirectly with the coach.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 14, 2008, 06:09pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by VTOfficial View Post
Does a technical foul for a delay put the seatbelt on the head coach?
No, since this foul is not charged to the coach, neither directly or indirectly.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 14, 2008, 06:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,445
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyClyde 68 View Post
So this would not be a T on the player, only on the team?

The T is listed in 10-1, so it's a Team T.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 14, 2008, 07:11pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 19,857
All Delay Technicals Team Technicals ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
The T is listed in 10-1, so it's a Team T.
Are any of the four "delay technicals" (free throw huddle, crossing boundary line, interfere with ball after goal, court not ready(water)) charged to a player???

NFHS 10-3-5-a: A player shall not delay the game by acts such as: Preventing the ball from being made live promptly or from being put in
play. (10-3 lists player technicals)

NFHS 10-1-5-e: A team shall not allow the game to develop into an actionless contest, this includes the following and similar acts: Interfering with the ball following a goal after any team warning for delay. (10-1 lists team technicals)
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Dec 14, 2008 at 10:08pm.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 14, 2008, 07:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 1,955
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyClyde 68 View Post
So this would not be a T on the player, only on the team?
______________
BC 68,
Check out the techincal foul table in the rule book. It's a handy way to remember these. Keep it dogeared for quick reference.
__________________
That's my whistle -- and I'm sticking to it!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 14, 2008, 09:39pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 7,841
BillyMac referenced the correct Sections and Articles in the NFHS Rules. In the original post, A1 would be charged with the TF per R1-S3-A5a even though Team A previously received an Official Warning per R4-S47. In fact, this would still be a TF charged to A1 even if Team A had NOT received an Official Warning for an infraction of R4-S47, but A1's TF would trigger an Official Warning to Team A.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 14, 2008, 10:17pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 19,857
I'm Confused And I Can't Get Up ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
BillyMac referenced the correct Sections and Articles in the NFHS Rules. In the original post, A1 would be charged with the TF per R1-S3-A5a even though Team A previously received an Official Warning per R4-S47. In fact, this would still be a TF charged to A1 even if Team A had NOT received an Official Warning for an infraction of R4-S47, but A1's TF would trigger an Official Warning to Team A.MTD, Sr.
How does one differentiate a team technical (10-1) from a player technical for (10-3) when a player prevents the ball from being made live promptly or from being put in play by interfering with the ball following a goal?

Are free throw huddles and/or court not ready (water), always team technicals after a warning?

Can crossing the boundary line ever be a player technical after a team warning? Or is it always a team technical?

I thought I understood these delays. Not so. I'm getting confused. Help me, or, I swear, I'll make another study guide, and this is not an idle threat.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Dec 14, 2008 at 10:55pm.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 14, 2008, 10:52pm
In Time Out
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 67
I called it a direct t on A1. He caused the delay. I still think I was right!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 14, 2008, 11:06pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 29,581
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyClyde 68 View Post
I called it a direct t on A1. He caused the delay. I still think I was right!!!!!
The problem is you were wrong. It goes to the team, just like an excessive timeout T.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 15, 2008, 09:08am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,396
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
How does one differentiate a team technical (10-1) from a player technical for (10-3) when a player prevents the ball from being made live promptly or from being put in play by interfering with the ball following a goal?
If it's one of the things that we give a delay warning for, then the technical (for delay) goes on the team. If it's not one of the things that we give a warning for, then it goes on the player.

Breaking the plane receives a warning the first time. So the second time, it could be done by a different kid. Therefore, the team gets the foul, not the kid.

Touching the ball while the inbounder is holding it does not get a warning. Therefore, it goes directly on the kid.

Similarly, rolling the ball away from the official in frustration delays the game but does not receive a warning. So you if call a kid for traveling and he rolls the ball to the other end of the gym, technical foul on the player, not just the team.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
T or Delay? Coltdoggs Basketball 13 Thu Mar 06, 2008 03:13pm
T for Delay dan74 Basketball 2 Sat Dec 01, 2007 09:19am
Delay on B? dumbref Football 17 Sat Oct 29, 2005 01:13pm
Obstruction Penality manhong Baseball 4 Wed Jun 09, 2004 10:47am
Delay after TO physicsref Basketball 26 Thu Dec 06, 2001 09:21pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:40pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1