![]() |
|
|
|||
BillyMac referenced the correct Sections and Articles in the NFHS Rules. In the original post, A1 would be charged with the TF per R1-S3-A5a even though Team A previously received an Official Warning per R4-S47. In fact, this would still be a TF charged to A1 even if Team A had NOT received an Official Warning for an infraction of R4-S47, but A1's TF would trigger an Official Warning to Team A.
MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
|
|||
I'm Confused And I Can't Get Up ...
Quote:
Are free throw huddles and/or court not ready (water), always team technicals after a warning? Can crossing the boundary line ever be a player technical after a team warning? Or is it always a team technical? I thought I understood these delays. Not so. I'm getting confused. Help me, or, I swear, I'll make another study guide, and this is not an idle threat.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Dec 14, 2008 at 10:55pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||||
Quote:
The action of A1, knocking the ball away following a made goal, is not worthy of a player technical foul. The NFHS says so directly in the Case Book. A1 would have to do something above and beyond a normal batting of the ball, such as throwing it into the 10th row, to get charged with an unsporting foul. 10.1.5 SITUATION D: Immediately following a goal by A1, A3 slaps the ball away so that Team B is unable to make a quick throw-in. RULING: The official shall sound his/her whistle and go to the table to have the scorer record a team warning for delay. The warning shall then be reported to the head coach of Team A. Any subsequent delay by Team A shall result in a team technical foul charged to Team A. (4-47-3) Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Nope, you got it wrong. Read what I wrote above to BillyMac and MTD. Pay special attention to the NFHS case play. |
|
|||
Quote:
Breaking the plane receives a warning the first time. So the second time, it could be done by a different kid. Therefore, the team gets the foul, not the kid. Touching the ball while the inbounder is holding it does not get a warning. Therefore, it goes directly on the kid. Similarly, rolling the ball away from the official in frustration delays the game but does not receive a warning. So you if call a kid for traveling and he rolls the ball to the other end of the gym, technical foul on the player, not just the team. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() However, I did cite the case play. ![]() |
|
|||
The Patrick Ewing Rule ???
Thanks Nevadaref and Scrapper1. I'm less confused now.
I really like Nevadaref's casebook citation. I would have issued a technical foul, with no warning, in this situation, and I would have been wrong. Isn't this what Patrick Ewing did at the end of the game when Georgetown lost in an NCAA final (to Villanova or North Carolina), which caused this rule to be added to the rulebook? Ewing may be responsible for two rules, delaying the game, and undershirt colors. 10.1.5 SITUATION D: Immediately following a goal by A1, A3 slaps the ball away so that Team B is unable to make a quick throw-in. RULING: The official shall sound his/her whistle and go to the table to have the scorer record a teamwarning for delay. The warning shall then be reported to the head coach of Team A. Any subsequent delay by Team A shall result in a team technical foul charged to Team A. (4-47-3)
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
Recanting of my previous statement.
I read too much into the OP and whole hardely agree with 2008-09 NFHS Casebook Play SITUATION D. I was thinking of a situation where, instead of A1 just knocking the ball away so as to delay Team B for a few seconds from starting its throw-in, I was thinking of a situation where A1 grabs the ball and hurls it into the stands or up court towards Team B's basket.
Under the situation that I present, A1's conduct goes beyond what R4-S47 covers. MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
T or Delay? | Coltdoggs | Basketball | 13 | Thu Mar 06, 2008 03:13pm |
T for Delay | dan74 | Basketball | 2 | Sat Dec 01, 2007 09:19am |
Delay on B? | dumbref | Football | 17 | Sat Oct 29, 2005 01:13pm |
Obstruction Penality | manhong | Baseball | 4 | Wed Jun 09, 2004 10:47am |
Delay after TO | physicsref | Basketball | 26 | Thu Dec 06, 2001 09:21pm |