The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 13, 2008, 11:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 552
Case 5.10.1 Sit B

Yikes!! Moral to the story: Don't Forget to Count!

But it also brings up a question. Okay, Team A inbounding with 12 seconds to go, A1 bounces the ball onto the court, A2 touches it to start the clock, but doesn't actually pick it up for 3 or 4 seconds. There's no team control yet, right? So the count doesn't start until they actually get hold of it? After 3 seconds, they could now stand in the bc til time runs out?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 13, 2008, 11:50pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 17,842
One Missippippi, Two Missippippi, Three Mississippi ...

5.10.1 SITUATION B: Team A leads by one point when they inbound the ball in
their backcourt with 12 seconds remaining in the fourth quarter. A1's throw-in
pass is to A2 who dribbles in the backcourt until the horn sounds. The trail official does not make a 10-second call because he/she "lost the count." RULING: The game is over. The clock may not be reset as there are no rule provisions to do this. If the count was not accurate or was not made, it cannot be corrected. There is no provision for the correction of an error made in the official's accuracy in counting seconds
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

I was in prison and you came to visit me. (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 14, 2008, 12:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Layton, Utah
Posts: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by Juulie Downs View Post
Yikes!! Moral to the story: Don't Forget to Count!

But it also brings up a question. Okay, Team A inbounding with 12 seconds to go, A1 bounces the ball onto the court, A2 touches it to start the clock, but doesn't actually pick it up for 3 or 4 seconds. There's no team control yet, right? So the count doesn't start until they actually get hold of it? After 3 seconds, they could now stand in the bc til time runs out?
The second A1 touches it, I'm starting my count...he can stand there for the next 10 seconds, then hear my whistle....
__________________
I love to mate.....Chess, The Kings Game
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 14, 2008, 12:32am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Juulie Downs View Post
Yikes!! Moral to the story: Don't Forget to Count!

But it also brings up a question. Okay, Team A inbounding with 12 seconds to go, A1 bounces the ball onto the court, A2 touches it to start the clock, but doesn't actually pick it up for 3 or 4 seconds. There's no team control yet, right? So the count doesn't start until they actually get hold of it? After 3 seconds, they could now stand in the bc til time runs out?
I see no reason why this would not be a legal play.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 14, 2008, 12:32am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skarecrow View Post
The second A1 touches it, I'm starting my count.......
How can you justify this, if there is obviously no team control?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 14, 2008, 04:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,487
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skarecrow View Post
The second A1 touches it, I'm starting my count...he can stand there for the next 10 seconds, then hear my whistle....
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
How can you justify this, if there is obviously no team control?
He can't. He's wrong.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 14, 2008, 09:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,621
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skarecrow View Post
The second A1 touches it, I'm starting my count...he can stand there for the next 10 seconds, then hear my whistle....
A1 has only 5 seconds...
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 14, 2008, 09:31am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,557
As to your Qs

Quote:
Originally Posted by Juulie Downs View Post
Yikes!! Moral to the story: Don't Forget to Count!

But it also brings up a question. Okay, Team A inbounding with 12 seconds to go, A1 bounces the ball onto the court, A2 touches it to start the clock, but doesn't actually pick it up for 3 or 4 seconds. There's no team control yet, right? So the count doesn't start until they actually get hold of it? After 3 seconds, they could now stand in the bc til time runs out?
Correct. Correct. Correct.

In this play: don't forget to not count!
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 14, 2008, 10:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,094
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
A1 has only 5 seconds...
Why only 5 seconds?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 14, 2008, 10:06am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,557
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Why only 5 seconds?
In the OP, A1 was the thrower-in.

Skarecrow mistakenly called A1 the inbounds player receiving the throw-in.
__________________
Pope Francis

Last edited by JugglingReferee; Sun Dec 14, 2008 at 10:20am. Reason: "the", not "he" (missed the 't')
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
In case you haven't seen this... IDref Soccer 10 Sat Jul 21, 2007 02:30pm
Case 6.3.2 rwest Basketball 8 Thu Oct 28, 2004 04:04pm
Just in case vincebradford'sboy71 Basketball 26 Wed Jan 21, 2004 12:06am
case 8.3.1 A biglaz Baseball 3 Thu Mar 27, 2003 01:51pm
Who is out in this case ? Mrhappybigpants Softball 3 Fri Jul 26, 2002 05:07pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:55pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1