![]() |
|
|||
Unusual Situation - Did we get it right?
I had an unusual situation this evening and would like some opinions
as to whether we got it right or not. During the introductions of the starting lineups prior to the game it was discovered that BOTH teams had number errors in the book. This is easy if it were only one team, and there is reference in the case book to one team having an error, but I can't find anything that specifically addresses errors by both teams. Here is how we handled it. Since both errors were discovered during introductions, I considered this to be a simultaneous technical foul. By rule, there are no free throws for simultaneous fouls and play is resumed at the point of interuption. Since play hadn't started yet, I considered the POI to be the jump ball and that is how we started the game. Each team was charged with a team foul, which effectively allowed both teams to shoot the bonus one foul sooner than normal. Was this correct? The problem I have with the way we handled it is that there was no real penalty to either team for the errors. Would anyone have treated this differently? |
|
|||
Here Are The Nails ...
3) Penalized when they occur, after ten minute time limit. The infraction occurs when the scorer is advised to add to or change the scorebook. The foul must be charged when it occurs and enforced when the ball next becomes live. Once the ball has become live, it is too late to penalize. A maximum of one technical foul per team regardless of the number of infractions for 2a, 3a, 3b, 3c, 4a:
b) A team shall not require the scorer to change a team member, or player, number in the scorebook (with exception), after the ten minute time limit. Team technical foul. If there is no request for change, or if a team member does not become a player, thus avoiding the change, there is no penalty.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
I thought i read in the case a while back that there is a situation before the initial toss to start the game, that a situation where you have a single tech. foul on both teams, both teams shoot 2 shots for the technicals, and then start the game with a jump ball??????
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
true, but is the techs didnt happen simultaneously then there wouldnt be a jump ball, say that team A received the second tech. then team B would get the throw in at half court opp the table, AP arrow to team A.
|
|
|||
Correct. Note that the NCAA level is different due to resuming at the POI on most single technical fouls. NCAA would still conduct a jump ball.
|
|
|||
Quote:
Now a different twist. Let's assume neither player was a starter. In this case the error wouldn't have been discovered until they entered the game, and provided they didn't enter the game at the same time, each technical would have resulted in two shots plus possession. In this case the exact same error would have been penalized differently. I guess it really does come down to when the error(s) are discovered. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() Quote:
![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
If you're concerned about the disincentive that a T provides to get the book right, then I'd say it's still intact. Teams can't count on each other to screw up their books every game, right?
__________________
Cheers, mb |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Unusual situation | FHSUref | Basketball | 2 | Sat Mar 06, 2004 11:22am |
Very "unusual" situation! HELP! | VaCoach | Basketball | 35 | Sun Feb 08, 2004 12:00pm |
Unusual Situation | SMEngmann | Basketball | 4 | Mon Dec 15, 2003 09:33am |
An unusual situation | ChuckElias | Basketball | 43 | Sun Aug 04, 2002 09:57pm |
Unusual Situation | blacktiger | Basketball | 13 | Tue Jan 16, 2001 09:27am |