The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 11, 2008, 03:41pm
I drank what?
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Winter Garden, FL
Posts: 1,085
Send a message via MSN to w_sohl
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
I'm not positive, but I think after all of this action, it would be too late to be corrected.

And if it's not, A would get the ball for an endline due to the POI, not the foul.
You can correct a correctable error anytime as long as the clock hasn't stopped and restarted. In the example I gave the clock never stopped during the three trips up and down the floor. Technically if the game was played cleanly you could correct an error from the beginning of a qtr and the end of that qtr. You would look very foolish doing so though.

My spot may be wrong, but I think it is right.
__________________
"Contact does not mean a foul, a foul means contact." -Me

Last edited by w_sohl; Thu Dec 11, 2008 at 07:18pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 11, 2008, 03:50pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by w_sohl View Post
You can correct a correctable error anytime as long as the clock hasn't stopped and restarted. In the example I gave the clock never stopped during the three trips up and down the floor. Technically if the game was played cleanly you could correct an error from the beginning of a qtr and the end of that qtr. You would look very foolish doing so though.

My spot may be wrong, but I think it is right.
Nope, there are dead ball limitations as well. I believe it has to be discovered prior to the 2nd live ball after the clock starts.

As for the spot: once you have a change in possession, you'll go to POI after the correction.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 11, 2008, 03:54pm
I drank what?
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Winter Garden, FL
Posts: 1,085
Send a message via MSN to w_sohl
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Nope, there are dead ball limitations as well. I believe it has to be discovered prior to the 2nd live ball after the clock starts.

As for the spot: once you have a change in possession, you'll go to POI after the correction.

Correct and the clock never stopped in my sitch. They were all made baskets with no violations, fouls or timeouts. Clock never stopped so we have yet to have a 2nd live clock after the error was discovered. In my sitch you can still correct.
__________________
"Contact does not mean a foul, a foul means contact." -Me

Last edited by w_sohl; Thu Dec 11, 2008 at 07:18pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 11, 2008, 03:58pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by w_sohl View Post
Correct and the clock never stopped in my sitch. They were all made baskets with no violations, fouls or timeouts. Clock never stopped so we have yet to have a 2nd live clock after the error was discovered. In my sitch you can still correct.
Not a 2nd live clock, a 2nd live ball after the clock starts (if the error occurs with the clock stopped). FT errors occur with the clock stopped; once it starts the error must be corrected prior to the 2nd live ball.

If the error occurs while the clock is running, it must be discovered and corrected prior to the 2nd live ball.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 11, 2008, 04:02pm
Esteemed Participant
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 4,775
Quote:
Originally Posted by w_sohl View Post
Correct and the clock never stopped in my sitch. They were all made baskets with no violations, fouls or timeouts. Clock never stopped so we have yet to have a 2nd live clock after the error was discovered. In my sitch you can still correct.
The clock not stopping is not what matters. When the ball goes thru the basket, it becomes dead. When the non-scoring team has the ball available for the throw-in, it has become live again. The clock didn't stop, but we had a live ball - dead ball - live ball. Too late to correct the error.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 11, 2008, 04:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Suwanee Georgia
Posts: 1,050
This is not correctable

Quote:
Originally Posted by w_sohl View Post
Correct and the clock never stopped in my sitch. They were all made baskets with no violations, fouls or timeouts. Clock never stopped so we have yet to have a 2nd live clock after the error was discovered. In my sitch you can still correct.
Snaqwells said live ball not live clock. The error must be corrected during the first dead ball after the clock started. So when B scored, the ball became dead even though the clock was still running. It is during this dead ball situation that you must correct the error.
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association
Multicounty Softball Association
Multicounty Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Correctable Error? nukewhistle Basketball 5 Thu Apr 06, 2006 11:10pm
Correctable Error Time2Ref Basketball 9 Sat Mar 11, 2006 08:06am
Correctable Error hbioteach Basketball 2 Fri Dec 10, 2004 10:03am
correctable error? cardinalfan Basketball 9 Tue Jan 20, 2004 05:59pm
Correctable error... w_sohl Basketball 3 Tue Dec 30, 2003 04:31pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:12am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1