![]() |
|
|
|||
Correctable Error?
A1 is fouled by B1. The table says we are in the bonus. A1 shoots and misses the 1st shot when Team B rebounds the ball. The table buzzes us over and says its only 6 fouls. So I give team B the ball because of the POI since they had possession of the ball when the table buzz us over. Did I do this right? And if possible, can I have the case and rule book number. Thanks
|
|
|||
Quote:
A.R. 22. Before the bonus rule is in effect, B1 fouls A1. The official errs by awarding A1 a one-and-one attempt. (3) A1 misses the front end of the one-and-one and the game clock starts, at which time the official detects the error; RULING: (3) Team A shall be awarded the ball at a designated spot nearest to where the foul occurred. The free throw(s) and activity during it, other than any technical foul, a flagrant personal foul or an intentional personal foul shall be canceled. Any points scored, time consumed and additional activity that may occur before the recognition of the error, shall not be nullified. |
|
|||
Quote:
I just wanted to clear that up for newer officials.
__________________
"Contact does not mean a foul, a foul means contact." -Me Last edited by w_sohl; Thu Dec 11, 2008 at 07:17pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
My spot may be wrong, but I think it is right.
__________________
"Contact does not mean a foul, a foul means contact." -Me Last edited by w_sohl; Thu Dec 11, 2008 at 07:18pm. |
|
||||
Quote:
As for the spot: once you have a change in possession, you'll go to POI after the correction.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
2.10.1G(c) You were right. |
|
|||
So A's unmerited free throws are canceled, and instead A is awarded.........
nothing. This one kinda sucks, doesn't it?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
I am so glad that I participated...
Thanks guys for making me look this up. I have forever thought that the way I described it was correct. I am going to delete my post so as to not confuse new officials.
I'm kind of embarassed. I've been doing this for far to long to think that was correct.
__________________
"Contact does not mean a foul, a foul means contact." -Me Last edited by w_sohl; Thu Dec 11, 2008 at 07:19pm. |
|
|||
I agree with you. Correction, though. I said A gets nothing. They do get the opportunity to rebound their own missed free throw. Still kinda sucks.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
||||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Correctable Error? | nukewhistle | Basketball | 5 | Thu Apr 06, 2006 11:10pm |
Correctable Error | Time2Ref | Basketball | 9 | Sat Mar 11, 2006 08:06am |
Correctable Error | hbioteach | Basketball | 2 | Fri Dec 10, 2004 10:03am |
correctable error? | cardinalfan | Basketball | 9 | Tue Jan 20, 2004 05:59pm |
Correctable error... | w_sohl | Basketball | 3 | Tue Dec 30, 2003 04:31pm |