![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
![]() Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Aw, c'mon, you knew I had to ask. Before anyone actually answers this, be sure to read every page of: Block / Charge Situation
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
We've got a tree All we need is a Referee. And you just volunteered.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Hey, wait a minute...
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
|
|||
|
Well Done zebra44, Much Better Than What zebra43 Had To Offer ...
Rookie officials, please make a note of this statement. Easy to understand, simple, and a pretty good interpretation.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) Last edited by BillyMac; Tue Dec 02, 2008 at 08:37pm. |
|
||||
|
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
BTW, I'm sticking with a no-call followed by an OOB call.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
|
Geez. After months of lurking I actually had to register on this one, to ask two questions.
1. What rule refers to "the cylinder that each person is entitled to" This sounds like ESPN-speak. 2. Similiarly, I am unable to find "the rule that says if the contact is not in the torso area of the defender the defender is at fault" Kind of eerie that a site that regularly posts "misunderstood rules" would see postings from people who should know better inventing rules that aren't in the book. But then perhaps the "torso rule" and the "cylinder rule" are on the same page as "reach" and "over the back" fouls, and I haven't gotten to that page yet. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Also everyone seems to be missing the obvious: WHO INITIATED THE CONTACT? Even if the contact is torso to torso, it doesn't have to be PC if the Defender moved to the offensive player, or if the offensive player bowls over a defender who is not stationary it doesn't have to be a block. The player initiating the contact is the one held liable in most cases. I got nothing on this contact - whistle the ball OOB and we go the other way.
__________________
New and improved: if it's new it's not improved; if it's improved it's not new. |
|
|||
|
It seems to me it depends on HOW far apart the defender's legs/feet were. If he was just standing there and his feet were 2 cm wider than his shoulders, well, that's not what I call an "extended limb". Also, I wonder what angle is included in all the various sentences. If his feet point at an angle away from the body, the toes might be farther apart than the width of the shoulders. And that kind of position might be easier to trip over. But is that a blocking foul? Hmm....
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
I don't know if I can handle an 18 page discussion after all of the A-11 craziness in the football forum.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Bunt is laid down....who covers third in this instance? | bombdiggity | Softball | 6 | Fri May 04, 2007 03:42pm |
| ASA OBS call then no call leads to ejection | DaveASA/FED | Softball | 28 | Mon Jul 12, 2004 03:52pm |
| To call or not to call foul ball | DaveASA/FED | Softball | 11 | Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:47am |
| More Pacers/Pistons call/no call | OverAndBack | Basketball | 36 | Thu Jun 03, 2004 07:01pm |
| Does one call relate to the last call? | Tee | Basketball | 28 | Thu Feb 13, 2003 05:53pm |