The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 24, 2008, 11:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 195
What would you do? FT situation

Working a game this past saturday and the coach of the team in question is a highly successful and respected former HS official. Opposing team is shooting 2. I'm the trail, my partner bounces the ball to the shooter. Just as the ball is about to hit the shooter's hands, the defensive player closest to the shooter leaves his lane space and walks towards half court. I signal the delayed violation. Coach goes crazy and says we need to blow that dead and start over b/c the shooter didn't have the ball yet. The shot was good so it didn't affect anything. I'm thinking the black and white answer is that it's a violation b/c the ball is at the shooter's disposal once my partner released it, however from a game management POV, would you blow it dead and start over since he was moving before the shooter caught the ball? Thanks for your input.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 24, 2008, 11:22am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,412
Quote:
Originally Posted by JS 20 View Post
we need to blow that dead and start over b/c the shooter didn't have the ball yet.
I suppose you don't have to, but I would've.

Quote:
it's a violation b/c the ball is at the shooter's disposal once my partner released it,
Oops. . .
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 24, 2008, 11:22am
Ch1town
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Ball is at the FTers dispossal when it is caught after the official bounces it to them.
Not sure on the proper procedure, but I doubt I would re-administer just because the defense chose to move after the ball is a split second from the shooter.

Depending on time & score that could be viewed as a "freeze" tactic without using a TO.

Last edited by Ch1town; Mon Nov 24, 2008 at 11:25am.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 24, 2008, 11:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 195
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
I suppose you don't have to, but I would've.

Oops. . .

Why is it oops? 8-1 Art 1 says "...the ball shall be placed at the disposal of the free thrower (bounced) by the administering official..."

I'm interpreting that to say that it's at the disposal of the thrower WHEN it's bounced. Is that incorrect? I don't see anything to say it's at the thrower's disposal when they catch it.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 24, 2008, 11:31am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,412
Quote:
Originally Posted by JS 20 View Post
Why is it oops? 8-1 Art 1 says "...the ball shall be placed at the disposal of the free thrower (bounced) by the administering official..."

I'm interpreting that to say that it's at the disposal of the thrower WHEN it's bounced. Is that incorrect? I don't see anything to say it's at the thrower's disposal when they catch it.
Definitions, my friend, definitions. Rule 4 is your best friend on the court.

4-4-7b.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 24, 2008, 11:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,057
Quote:
Originally Posted by JS 20 View Post
Why is it oops? 8-1 Art 1 says "...the ball shall be placed at the disposal of the free thrower (bounced) by the administering official..."

I'm interpreting that to say that it's at the disposal of the thrower WHEN it's bounced. Is that incorrect? I don't see anything to say it's at the thrower's disposal when they catch it.
. A ball is at the disposal of a player when it is:

a. Handed to a thrower or free thrower.
b. Caught by a player after it is bounced to him/her.
c. Placed on the floor at the spot.
d. Available to a player after a goal.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 24, 2008, 11:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 195
That's why I posted. I knew I'd get the answer here. Thanks!!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 24, 2008, 11:35am
Ch1town
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by JS 20 View Post
Why is it oops?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch1town View Post
Ball is at the FTers dispossal when it is caught after the official bounces it to them.
Quote:
Originally Posted by JS 20 View Post
I'm interpreting that to say that it's at the disposal of the thrower WHEN it's bounced. Is that incorrect?
No, per 4-4-7(b)

Wow you all are extremely fast for a Monday morning
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 24, 2008, 11:39am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by JS 20 View Post
Why is it oops? 8-1 Art 1 says "...the ball shall be placed at the disposal of the free thrower (bounced) by the administering official..."

I'm interpreting that to say that it's at the disposal of the thrower WHEN it's bounced. Is that incorrect? I don't see anything to say it's at the thrower's disposal when they catch it.
When do you start your 10-second count? When the free-throw shooter catches the ball, or when your partner releases the ball to bounce it to the shooter?
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 24, 2008, 11:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Southern NJ
Posts: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by Indianaref View Post
. A ball is at the disposal of a player when it is:

a. Handed to a thrower or free thrower.
b. Caught by a player after it is bounced to him/her.
c. Placed on the floor at the spot.
d. Available to a player after a goal.

IAABO alert! Test question! Test question!

Test question: After the ball is bounced to, but before A1 catches the ball for a free throw, B1 and B2 exhange places on the marked lane space. Official rules this a violation on Team B. Is he correct?
No, for the reason stated above.


I only need 49 more answers for tonight...

Z
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 24, 2008, 12:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 195
Quote:
Originally Posted by JugglingReferee View Post
When do you start your 10-second count? When the free-throw shooter catches the ball, or when your partner releases the ball to bounce it to the shooter?
I usually start right after I report the foul. I like to keep the game moving.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 24, 2008, 12:04pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,412
Quote:
Originally Posted by JS 20 View Post
I usually start right after I report the foul. I like to keep the game moving.
Good game management, baby!!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 24, 2008, 12:09pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by JS 20 View Post
I usually start right after I report the foul. I like to keep the game moving.
That's a nice way to keep out of overtime. Don't let him hit that shot to tie the game - call a 10s violation instead!
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 24, 2008, 12:51pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by JS 20 View Post
Working a game this past saturday and the coach of the team in question is a highly successful and respected former HS official. Opposing team is shooting 2. I'm the trail, my partner bounces the ball to the shooter. Just as the ball is about to hit the shooter's hands, the defensive player closest to the shooter leaves his lane space and walks towards half court. I signal the delayed violation. Coach goes crazy and says we need to blow that dead and start over b/c the shooter didn't have the ball yet. The shot was good so it didn't affect anything. I'm thinking the black and white answer is that it's a violation b/c the ball is at the shooter's disposal once my partner released it, however from a game management POV, would you blow it dead and start over since he was moving before the shooter caught the ball? Thanks for your input.
Did he make it out passed the 3 pt line prior to the shooter catching the ball? If yes, legal play. If no, violation and good call. I'm not blowing this one back, either way; depending on the level.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 24, 2008, 01:32pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by JugglingReferee View Post
That's a nice way to keep out of overtime. Don't let him hit that shot to tie the game - call a 10s violation instead!
I like the way this guy thinks.
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OB situation sj Basketball 15 Tue Jan 02, 2007 01:11pm
What would you do in this situation? LLPA13UmpDan Baseball 36 Wed Oct 18, 2006 06:48am
Another FT situation Mark Dexter Basketball 15 Mon Aug 30, 2004 03:21am
FT Situation williebfree Basketball 4 Wed Jan 29, 2003 07:54am
Help With This Situation coachmjw Basketball 18 Thu Jan 02, 2003 03:17pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:57am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1