The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Wed Jan 01, 2003, 07:17am
Official Forum Member

I am a basketball coach who would like some help with this situation. We scored to tie a game with 4 seconds. Our opponent hurried the ball up the floor and according to the referee we fouled their player on a shot for a lay up. The shot and the horn were so close that you couldn't tell the difference. Obviously on judgement of the official it happenned before the horn went off. Personally I feel the official should of waived it off and said "OVERTIME". The official had the player shoot the free throws with no one in the lane - the player made the first free throw and the game was over. Should the lane have been cleared? Should some time of been put back on the clock? If the player was fouled before the horn according to the official then their should still be some time.

I also would like some opinions by officials on the judgement of this play. If no time is on the clock I as a basketball coach feel strongly the official should of waived the play off. The trail official at half court made a comment to me that he would of waived it off but it was not his call. I told him it sure is - he needs to discuss this play with the official who made the call.

Please comment.
Old Wed Jan 01, 2003, 07:59am
In Memoriam

Quote:
I also would like some opinions by officials on the judgement of this play. [/B]
Coach,I'll give you the same answers that I gave on the other board:
1)It is strictly a judgement call by the calling official as to whether the foul occured before the period ended.
2)The period ends when the horn goes off,not when the clock reads 0:00 seconds.
3)The timer is allowed,by rule,a one-second time lag to stop the clock in cases like this.Therefore,time should not have been put back on the clock.