The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 28, 2003, 06:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Central Wisconsin
Posts: 1,069
NFHS:

Need clarification....

According to 8-1-1b, (Resuming play after a TO) the FT count shall begin and either or both teams may be charged with a violation.

True or false:
1. If the shooter is not in the semi-cirle (of the FT area) when the ball is placed at the shooter's disposal by the administering official a violation is called on the shooter when s/he does enter the FT area?

2. Unless non-shooting team does not have players in the bottom blocks, then it is a double violation.

3. Another consideration would be if a count of 10 is reached before the shooter releases the shot and non-shooting team does not have players in the bottom blocks, correct?
__________________
"Stay in the game!"
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 28, 2003, 06:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Idaho
Posts: 1,474
#1 CB 8.1.1 Situation B Comment: "If the free throw shooter is not in the semicircle when the administering official is ready, a technical foul is charged to the free thrower."

If he is in the semi-circle but not paying attention, (listening to his coach etc.) I think you place the ball on the floor in the semi-circle and begin the 10 second count. If he turns and kicks it out....?

#2 From what I have gathered from our discussion in this forum, the shooter shoots till he misses if the opponents won't occupy the bottom blocks. If neither team is there? I've got to wonder if I'm missing something?

#3 10 sec count and no opponents - double violation, loss of shot.

These seem like far fetched scenarios and not that I am unsure about my answers but I pray they never happen to any official.

Just my initial shot at these scenarios. Someone will straighten us out. They always do.
__________________
"There are no superstar calls. We don't root for certain teams. We don't cheat. But sometimes we just miss calls." - Joe Crawford
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 28, 2003, 11:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
Quote:
Originally posted by DownTownTonyBrown
#1 CB 8.1.1 Situation B Comment: "If the free throw shooter is not in the semicircle when the administering official is ready, a technical foul is charged to the free thrower."
Not true. This doesn't apply during resuming play situations. The entire comment reads:

Since this situation is not following a time-out or intermission, the resuming-of-play procedure shall not be used. If the free thrower is not in the semicircle when the administering official is ready, a technical foul is charged to the free thrower. If the free thrower is in the semicircle, but does not accept the ball, it shall be placed on the floor and the count started. (10-1-5c; 10-3-7c)

willie's situation was after a TO. It's a violation when the shooter steps in the semi-circle.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 29, 2003, 05:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,797
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef

willie's situation was after a TO. It's a violation when the shooter steps in the semi-circle.
and the casebook reference is 9.1.7
Therefore, willie, the answer to your post is true, true, true.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 29, 2003, 07:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 426
Send a message via AIM to dhodges007 Send a message via Yahoo to dhodges007
Quote:
Originally posted by DownTownTonyBrown
#1 CB 8.1.1 Situation B Comment: "If the free throw shooter is not in the semicircle when the administering official is ready, a technical foul is charged to the free thrower."

If he is in the semi-circle but not paying attention, (listening to his coach etc.) I think you place the ball on the floor in the semi-circle and begin the 10 second count. If he turns and kicks it out....?

#2 From what I have gathered from our discussion in this forum, the shooter shoots till he misses if the opponents won't occupy the bottom blocks. If neither team is there? I've got to wonder if I'm missing something?

Actually this is a T after the first violation. It's in the CB, but I am at work and don't have it with me.
__________________
~Hodges

My two sense!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:50am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1