The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 19, 2008, 09:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,029
But if A1 puts her right foot down in the backcourt prior to catching the ball, I'm not penalizing her no matter what that silly Interp #10 says.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 20, 2008, 12:00pm
Ch1town
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
But if A1 puts her right foot down in the backcourt prior to catching the ball, I'm not penalizing her no matter what that silly Interp #10 says.
I'm thinking you're just kidding... but by rule it's still a violation, correct?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 20, 2008, 12:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch1town View Post
I'm thinking you're just kidding... but by rule it's still a violation, correct?
If B1 tips the ball, A1 steps first in the BC, then catches the ball, that should not be a violation. A was not the last to touch the ball in FC.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 20, 2008, 12:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,847
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
If B1 tips the ball, A1 steps first in the BC, then catches the ball, that should not be a violation. A was not the last to touch the ball in FC.
Uh oh. Here we go...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 20, 2008, 12:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
If B1 tips the ball, A1 steps first in the BC, then catches the ball, that should not be a violation. A was not the last to touch the ball in FC.
And this is why the "silly interp" comment was made. According to the interpretation, this is, indeed, a violation.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 20, 2008, 12:30pm
Ch1town
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
If B1 tips the ball, A1 steps first in the BC, then catches the ball, that should not be a violation. A was not the last to touch the ball in FC.
If B1 tips the ball, A1 steps first OOB, then catches the ball...
who caused it go OOB?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 20, 2008, 12:50pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch1town View Post
If B1 tips the ball, A1 steps first OOB, then catches the ball...
who caused it go OOB?
Not the same at all. Read the four requirements for a backcourt violation. Team A must be last to touch the ball in the front court, no exceptions. "Causation" is not part of this rule.
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 20, 2008, 01:20pm
Ch1town
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Padgett View Post
Not the same at all. Read the four requirements for a backcourt violation. Team A must be last to touch the ball in the front court, no exceptions. "Causation" is not part of this rule.
Mark I understand that fact, but with the twist Nevada put on the OP. Didn't A1s recovery become a last to touch in the fc while simultaneously gaining control in the bc situation?

I always thought if B (in the fc) tipped the ball towards the bc, A had to let the ball gain bc status (by actually striking the wood) then regain possession

Not trying to be confrontational, just want to get it right. And not right by personal philosophies, but how the Feds want it called.
Any casebook plays on this particular situation would be greatly appreciated?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 20, 2008, 01:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch1town View Post
Mark I understand that fact, but with the twist Nevada put on the OP. Didn't A1s recovery become a last to touch in the fc while simultaneously gaining control in the bc situation?

I always thought if B (in the fc) tipped the ball towards the bc, A had to let the ball gain bc status (by actually striking the wood) then regain possession

Not trying to be confrontational, just want to get it right. And not right by personal philosophies, but how the Feds want it called.
Any casebook plays on this particular situation would be greatly appreciated?
You understand correctly according to the stupid interpretation. Most disagree with this ruling, because A1 never touches a ball with frontcourt status - the instant he/she touches the ball, it has backcourt status.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 20, 2008, 11:06pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch1town View Post
Mark I understand that fact, but with the twist Nevada put on the OP. Didn't A1s recovery become a last to touch in the fc while simultaneously gaining control in the bc situation?

I always thought if B (in the fc) tipped the ball towards the bc, A had to let the ball gain bc status (by actually striking the wood) then regain possession

Not trying to be confrontational, just want to get it right. And not right by personal philosophies, but how the Feds want it called.
Any casebook plays on this particular situation would be greatly appreciated?
The interp (I believe) rather than a case play says it's a violation. The argument, however, is that it impossible to simultaneously be the last to touch "before" it goes into the back court and the first to touch it in the back court. "Before" is key here.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 20, 2008, 12:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Cause is a valid concept in OOB. Cause is not a valid concept in the backcourt violation. Last to touch, first to touch. No cause involved.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming

Last edited by Back In The Saddle; Thu Nov 20, 2008 at 12:55pm. Reason: You're quick today, Mark! :)
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 22, 2008, 04:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch1town View Post
I'm thinking you're just kidding... but by rule it's still a violation, correct?
Nope. By rule the play is legal. By recent NFHS interpretation the play is a backcourt violation, and I have just decreed that interpretation to be null and void.

By unilateral decree...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Over the back? budjones05 Basketball 11 Tue Apr 25, 2006 10:42am
over and back? JohnBark Basketball 2 Fri Jan 07, 2005 05:52am
Over and back... JohnBark Basketball 3 Sat Dec 18, 2004 06:43pm
I'll be back!!! Zebra1 Basketball 13 Mon Apr 07, 2003 02:56pm
Over and Back Larks Basketball 24 Sun Oct 27, 2002 06:12pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:21am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1