![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
I'm thinking you're just kidding... but by rule it's still a violation, correct?
|
|
|||
|
If B1 tips the ball, A1 steps first in the BC, then catches the ball, that should not be a violation. A was not the last to touch the ball in FC.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
|
Uh oh. Here we go...
|
|
|||
|
And this is why the "silly interp" comment was made. According to the interpretation, this is, indeed, a violation.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
who caused it go OOB? |
|
|||
|
Not the same at all. Read the four requirements for a backcourt violation. Team A must be last to touch the ball in the front court, no exceptions. "Causation" is not part of this rule.
__________________
Yom HaShoah |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I always thought if B (in the fc) tipped the ball towards the bc, A had to let the ball gain bc status (by actually striking the wood) then regain possession ![]() Not trying to be confrontational, just want to get it right. And not right by personal philosophies, but how the Feds want it called. Any casebook plays on this particular situation would be greatly appreciated? |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
A1 was not the last to touch it BEFORE it goes into the backcourt....B was.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
My head hurts.
Fast break A1 dribbling with ball in the FC passes to A2 who is also already in the FC. B1 trys to steal the ball, but only manages to bat the ball towards her own basket. A3 is still coming up the floor, but is still in the BC. She catches the ball that was still in flight from the bat. Interp #10 says this is a BC violation??
So it's (the interp) trying to say that the exact moment A3 catches the ball in the BC, she is doing the last 2 bullet thingys at once? (Last to touch the ball in the FC...since the ball never has yet been in the BC, AND she is now the first to touch in the BC) |
|
|||
|
Cause is a valid concept in OOB. Cause is not a valid concept in the backcourt violation. Last to touch, first to touch. No cause involved.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming Last edited by Back In The Saddle; Thu Nov 20, 2008 at 12:55pm. Reason: You're quick today, Mark! :) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
![]() By unilateral decree... |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Over the back? | budjones05 | Basketball | 11 | Tue Apr 25, 2006 10:42am |
| over and back? | JohnBark | Basketball | 2 | Fri Jan 07, 2005 05:52am |
| Over and back... | JohnBark | Basketball | 3 | Sat Dec 18, 2004 06:43pm |
| I'll be back!!! | Zebra1 | Basketball | 13 | Mon Apr 07, 2003 02:56pm |
| Over and Back | Larks | Basketball | 24 | Sun Oct 27, 2002 06:12pm |