The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 19, 2008, 11:56am
Ch1town
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Sounds good Scrapper, any casebook play to validate your stance?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 19, 2008, 12:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 51
But you know the funny thing with this play is the inverse, for lack of a better term. If team A has the ball in the FC, basic play, and a pass is deflected by B into the BC, A can legally retrieve the ball. Make sure I'm right on that first.
By using the discussion above, B never had team control, yet we are allowing A to retain possession. Yet a tap on a throw-in doesn't have the same restrictions. Anyone else see the contradiction in this rule?
Just my mid-morning ramblings (lack of sleep and no coffee yet)
__________________
"My purpose on life was to not make people happy, it is to make the correct call!!"
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 19, 2008, 12:57pm
ODJ ODJ is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 390
CB 9-9-3 supports violation. Throw-in ends when legally touched. A2 touched ball with FC status. A1 grabs it in BC.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 19, 2008, 01:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 656
Quote:
Originally Posted by ODJ View Post
CB 9-9-3 supports violation. Throw-in ends when legally touched. A2 touched ball with FC status. A1 grabs it in BC.
Almost,..... don't forget, you still have to have team control mixed in there before a BC violation can occur.
.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 19, 2008, 02:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by a4caster View Post
But you know the funny thing with this play is the inverse, for lack of a better term. If team A has the ball in the FC, basic play, and a pass is deflected by B into the BC, A can legally retrieve the ball. Make sure I'm right on that first.
By using the discussion above, B never had team control, yet we are allowing A to retain possession. Yet a tap on a throw-in doesn't have the same restrictions. Anyone else see the contradiction in this rule?
Just my mid-morning ramblings (lack of sleep and no coffee yet)
If you allow B to tap it into the backcourt then not allow A to touch it while it is in their backcourt, you're penalizing A big time.

B taps it into the backcourt and then they are legally the only ones allowed to touch it. Major advantage. That's what the rules are for, to take away advantages like that and make the game FAIR.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I believe I blew this one !!! Chess Ref Softball 1 Mon Aug 22, 2005 08:15am
Yeh, I blew it... thumpferee Baseball 4 Tue Apr 26, 2005 06:56am
I think I blew this one U_of_I_Blue Baseball 1 Thu Jun 17, 2004 10:15pm
I blew it! zebraman Basketball 34 Thu Jun 10, 2004 03:12am
Oh man, I really blew it. Mark Padgett Basketball 2 Fri Mar 12, 2004 07:32pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:42am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1