The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   I blew one last night.. (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/49948-i-blew-one-last-night.html)

MidMadness Wed Nov 19, 2008 10:32am

I blew one last night..
 
Throw in at the division line...A1 throws in to A2 in front court, doesn't catch it, just taps it back to A1 in the backcourt, I toot...Backcourt violation...No one in the whole gym knew I blew it, including my partner, My thinking is there was never any team control in the frontcourt off the throw-in, so therefore no backcourt violaton..am I correct ??

Ch1town Wed Nov 19, 2008 10:37am

When A2 taps it, where's the location of the ball?

Scrapper1 Wed Nov 19, 2008 10:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by MidMadness (Post 551653)
there was never any team control in the frontcourt off the throw-in, so therefore no backcourt violaton..

Unfortunately, yes, you're correct. It was a bad call. Betcha don't make that one again, though, will you? ;)

Lotto Wed Nov 19, 2008 10:42am

In NCAA, even though there is team control on a throw-in, this play would still not be a violation. See A.R. 212 (3).

fullor30 Wed Nov 19, 2008 10:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by MidMadness (Post 551653)
Throw in at the division line...A1 throws in to A2 in front court, doesn't catch it, just taps it back to A1 in the backcourt, I toot...Backcourt violation...No one in the whole gym knew I blew it, including my partner, My thinking is there was never any team control in the frontcourt off the throw-in, so therefore no backcourt violaton..am I correct ??

Could you argue that A2 had enough 'control' to redirect the ball back to A1?

Just askin'

bob jenkins Wed Nov 19, 2008 10:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by MidMadness (Post 551653)
Throw in at the division line...A1 throws in to A2 in front court, doesn't catch it, just taps it back to A1 in the backcourt, I toot...Backcourt violation...No one in the whole gym knew I blew it, including my partner, My thinking is there was never any team control in the frontcourt off the throw-in, so therefore no backcourt violaton..am I correct ??

If it was a "controlled tap" (and I know that's not a defined term), then I'd also have a violation. If A2 fumbled tha ball, or it was a bad pass and A2 was just abtting it away from a defensive player, etc., then the play would be legal.

Adam Wed Nov 19, 2008 10:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ch1town (Post 551656)
When A2 taps it, where's the location of the ball?

Inbounds. :)

A Pennsylvania Coach Wed Nov 19, 2008 11:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 551665)
If it was a "controlled tap" (and I know that's not a defined term), then I'd also have a violation. If A2 fumbled tha ball, or it was a bad pass and A2 was just abtting it away from a defensive player, etc., then the play would be legal.

Agreed

PSidbury Wed Nov 19, 2008 11:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by fullor30 (Post 551664)
Could you argue that A2 had enough 'control' to redirect the ball back to A1?

I'm thinking the same thing.
Was A2's re-direction of ball back to A1 "controlled"?

I probably would have called backcourt too if the tap was a "pass" and not a "fumble".

Thanks,
Paul

Adam Wed Nov 19, 2008 11:27am

This really "smells" like a violation to me.

Ch1town Wed Nov 19, 2008 11:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 551683)
This really "smells" like a violation to me.

Concur

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ch1town (Post 551656)
When A2 taps it, where's the location of the ball?

Controlled tap from F/C to the B/C

referee99 Wed Nov 19, 2008 11:47am

I would argue...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 551665)
If it was a "controlled tap" (and I know that's not a defined term), then I'd also have a violation. If A2 fumbled tha ball, or it was a bad pass and A2 was just abtting it away from a defensive player, etc., then the play would be legal.

That our tapper does not have player control.
We cannot have team control until we have player control.
No violation.

I know it looks wrong, and may actually smell wrong, but there is no violation here.

Scrapper1 Wed Nov 19, 2008 11:48am

There's no such thing as a controlled tap. Either the player establishes control -- holding or dribbling the live ball inbounds -- or he doesn't. Ask yourself this: would you have granted a time-out to the player if he'd asked for it during his "controlled tap". If the answer is no, then NO VIOLATION.

Ch1town Wed Nov 19, 2008 11:56am

Sounds good Scrapper, any casebook play to validate your stance?

a4caster Wed Nov 19, 2008 12:02pm

But you know the funny thing with this play is the inverse, for lack of a better term. If team A has the ball in the FC, basic play, and a pass is deflected by B into the BC, A can legally retrieve the ball. Make sure I'm right on that first.
By using the discussion above, B never had team control, yet we are allowing A to retain possession. Yet a tap on a throw-in doesn't have the same restrictions. Anyone else see the contradiction in this rule?
Just my mid-morning ramblings (lack of sleep and no coffee yet)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:46pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1