![]() |
|
|||
In homage to Tony: there are four required elements to a backcourt violation. If any one of the four is missing, it is NOT a violation.
In the OP, there is no team control. Tapping is not controlling. Holding or dribbling is controlling. If you judge that he actually caught the ball then threw it, by all means count that as team control. In my game, there is going to have to be a clear catch, obvious control, and then a separate throwing motion. "Prolonged contact" doesn't do it for me in basketball. ![]()
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming |
|
|||
I had a similar thing happen to me tonight. Throw-in in the frontcourt. A1 throws it towards A2, it's a high pass. Deflects off of A2's hand and goes about two feet into the backcourt. A2 goes and retrieves it and dribbles into the frontcourt. I almost hit the whistle before I realized that it wasn't a violation.
As for the OP, that isn't a violation if it happened the way it's described. |
|
|||
Quote:
I agree with Bob Jenkins's ruling: if it's a pass, this is a violation; if it's a fumble, play on.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
Quote:
Do you believe that batting the ball constitutes player control? |
|
|||
I'm pretty sure Bob would point out that you cannot have a fumble without having first had player control, thus team control, thus a violation.
![]() OTOH, batting the ball does not involve player control, thus no team control, thus no violation.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() |
|
|||
As I implied in an earlier post, if the ball comes to rest in the hand at all, it's a hold, not a bat. This still is consistent with the definition of player control requiring a player to be either holding or dribbling a live ball inbounds. Remember, it is possible for a player to "bat" the ball in a specific direction without having it come to rest in his hand. This is not a hold and does not constitute player control.
__________________
Yom HaShoah |
|
|||
Heluva Good Official ...
He says that he lives in Hell. Anybody got any contacts there? Also, I heard a rumor that he was sighted on the Baseball Forum recently.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
No, but I'm going there for an extended stay.
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
I believe I blew this one !!! | Chess Ref | Softball | 1 | Mon Aug 22, 2005 08:15am |
Yeh, I blew it... | thumpferee | Baseball | 4 | Tue Apr 26, 2005 06:56am |
I think I blew this one | U_of_I_Blue | Baseball | 1 | Thu Jun 17, 2004 10:15pm |
I blew it! | zebraman | Basketball | 34 | Thu Jun 10, 2004 03:12am |
Oh man, I really blew it. | Mark Padgett | Basketball | 2 | Fri Mar 12, 2004 07:32pm |