The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 14, 2008, 03:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 521
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
No. Ball never had FC status.
Bear with this rookie.

In the OP, we have an offensive player dribbling the ball at the center line but does not have the ball and both feet in the FC. However, the defender is in the FC and he touches the ball which, if I'm understanding correctly, gave the ball FC status. Correct? The ball then is last touched by the offensive player who is the first to touch it in the BC, thus, a violation.

If I am correct on my understanding, how is that different from the scenario I presented? The ball did not have FC status since a foot was still in the BC.

What am I not following?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 14, 2008, 03:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 521
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spence View Post
Bear with this rookie.

In the OP, we have an offensive player dribbling the ball at the center line but does not have the ball and both feet in the FC. However, the defender is in the FC and he touches the ball which, if I'm understanding correctly, gave the ball FC status. Correct? The ball then is last touched by the offensive player who is the first to touch it in the BC, thus, a violation.

If I am correct on my understanding, how is that different from the scenario I presented? The ball did not have FC status since a foot was still in the BC.

What am I not following?
Maybe I found my own answer. Is the difference that in the OP we are talking about a dribble which was touched by the defender in the FC while the ball was NOT touching the offensive player in the BC vs my scenario where the offensive player was holding the ball when it was hit by the defender?

Last edited by Spence; Fri Nov 14, 2008 at 04:20pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 14, 2008, 05:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spence View Post
Maybe I found my own answer. Is the difference that in the OP we are talking about a dribble which was touched by the defender in the FC while the ball was NOT touching the offensive player in the BC vs my scenario where the offensive player was holding the ball when it was hit by the defender?
It doesn't really matter. If A1 was constantly in the backcourt and team B touches the ball between the touches by A, you should never have a violation.



For points required for a violation:
  1. Team control
  2. Ball gains FC status
  3. Team A last to touch the ball BEFORE the ball returns to the BC (gains BC status).
  4. Team A first to touch the ball AFTER the ball returns to the BC (gains BC status).
For #2, it doesn't necessarily mean player control in the FC.
For #3, it doesn't matter WHERE team A touches the ball or if the ball still has BC status, just the order relative to gaining BC status.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Fri Nov 14, 2008 at 05:58pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 14, 2008, 03:59pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spence View Post
Bear with this rookie.

In the OP, we have an offensive player dribbling the ball at the center line but does not have the ball and both feet in the FC. However, the defender is in the FC and he touches the ball which, if I'm understanding correctly, gave the ball FC status. Correct? The ball then is last touched by the offensive player who is the first to touch it in the BC, thus, a violation.

If I am correct on my understanding, how is that different from the scenario I presented? The ball did not have FC status since a foot was still in the BC.

What am I not following?
In the OP the poster added that the ball was batted into the FC by the defender (B1) before A1 retrieved it.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 14, 2008, 04:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 521
Am I correct that if during a throw in the ball is tipped by a defender and caught by an offensive player who jumped from the FC and landed in the BC we have a backcourt violation? I seem to remember reading that with the logic being that the throw in ended when touched by the defender.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 14, 2008, 04:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 845
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spence View Post
Am I correct that if during a throw in the ball is tipped by a defender and caught by an offensive player who jumped from the FC and landed in the BC we have a backcourt violation? I seem to remember reading that with the logic being that the throw in ended when touched by the defender.
That is correct. That play was listed on the NFHS and IAABO web sites as interps. I do believe that the described play is in the case book. I believe it is under 'Back Court Violation."
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 14, 2008, 04:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 521
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoochy View Post
That is correct. That play was listed on the NFHS and IAABO web sites as interps. I do believe that the described play is in the case book. I believe it is under 'Back Court Violation."
Thanks. One more follow-up then: Lets say it was not tipped by the defense. It was tipped by A2 in the FC and then recovered by A3 in the BC. If I'm reading the rules and definitions correctly there was no team or player control in the FC so I would have nothing. Correct?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 14, 2008, 04:21pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spence View Post
Am I correct that if during a throw in the ball is tipped by a defender and caught by an offensive player who jumped from the FC and landed in the BC we have a backcourt violation? I seem to remember reading that with the logic being that the throw in ended when touched by the defender.
From last season's interps.

Here are the important words: The provision for making a normal landing only applies to the exceptions of a throw-in and a defensive player, and is only for the player making the initial touch on the ball. (9-9-1; 9-9-3)
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help on backcourt Back In The Saddle Basketball 10 Wed Dec 15, 2004 04:37pm
Backcourt ronny mulkey Basketball 3 Sat Dec 04, 2004 04:00pm
Backcourt gostars Basketball 6 Tue Nov 02, 2004 08:56pm
Backcourt Laker D Basketball 14 Sun Oct 24, 2004 01:40am
backcourt? BigDave Basketball 5 Mon Dec 09, 2002 01:49am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:23pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1