The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 12, 2008, 11:12am
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,030
Quote:
Originally Posted by rpadgett46231 View Post
So your saying since its a double violation- you go to the Alternating Possession??

Exactly.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 12, 2008, 11:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 656
This is where you would have to judge if A1 was disconcerted. It's (the OP)worded that you have B1 stepping into the lane THEN A1 shooting. Could be/may not be disconcertion...you decide.

But, normally, the ball is in the air when the B1's of the world violate, trying to time the "hit on the rim/backboard". That's double violation and AP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 12, 2008, 12:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 299
So, you'd call a violation on B-1, if he stepped in right when the ball was going to touch the rim, but happened to fall a hair short?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 12, 2008, 01:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coach Bill View Post
So, you'd call a violation on B-1, if he stepped in right when the ball was going to touch the rim, but happened to fall a hair short?
If B-1 stepped in after the ball had clearly missed, then it's not a violation because the FT was over.

So, in your scenario, no violation.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 12, 2008, 01:05pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,030
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdw3018 View Post
If B-1 stepped in after the ball had clearly missed, then it's not a violation because the FT was over.

So, in your scenario, no violation.
It isn't exact... but this is a case play.

I believe the play in the case book the shooter steps on the line and then B commits a violation.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 12, 2008, 08:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjones1 View Post
It isn't exact... but this is a case play.

I believe the play in the case book the shooter steps on the line and then B commits a violation.
9.1.3 Sit H
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 12, 2008, 08:56pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,030
Thumbs up That's it...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
9.1.3 Sit H

Thanks, Nevada! I was away from my books when I posted.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 12, 2008, 01:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 656
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coach Bill View Post
So, you'd call a violation on B-1, if he stepped in right when the ball was going to touch the rim, but happened to fall a hair short?
Bill, you and I should both know an official can't possibly see both of those happen at the same time!!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 12, 2008, 09:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 1,955
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoachP View Post
Bill, you and I should both know an official can't possibly see both of those happen at the same time!!
_______________

No because two different officials are watching for each of those things.
__________________
That's my whistle -- and I'm sticking to it!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 13, 2008, 11:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 656
Quote:
Originally Posted by refnrev View Post
_______________

No because two different officials are watching for each of those things.
Then who decides which happens first?
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 13, 2008, 12:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 24
Following is a NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretation from 1995-96. It sort of fits this situation but not exactly:

SITUATION #17: A1 is preparing to attempt the first of two free throws. B1, who is occupying a marked lane space, fakes as if to enter the lane prematurely. A1 releases the ball but it does not strike the ring or enter the basket.

RULING: The violation for faking applies only to players along the lane and only if an opponent enters the lane early because of the fake. However, in this situation the administering official may judge that the fake disconcerted A1. If disconcertion is called, the violation by A1 is disregarded and a substitute throw is awarded. If disconcertion is not ruled, A1's violation cancels the first attempt and the second attempt is awarded. (9-1-3,4, Penalty 3)

I have the remaining interps from 95-96, but am not sure how to post them.

Last edited by newera21; Thu Nov 13, 2008 at 09:29pm.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 13, 2008, 01:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 1,955
That all depends upon who has the fastest whistle! Just kidding.
__________________
That's my whistle -- and I'm sticking to it!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Free throw violation rbruno Basketball 7 Sun Feb 18, 2007 12:01pm
No Rim Violation on free throw coach41 Basketball 5 Mon Dec 19, 2005 08:15pm
Free Throw Violation rocky50 Basketball 11 Sat Sep 25, 2004 03:07pm
Free Throw Violation Bizket786 Basketball 1 Sun Aug 29, 2004 05:08pm
Free Throw Violation fref Basketball 3 Wed May 21, 2003 05:23pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:42am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1