![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
![]() ![]() Here is the play ruling that mick noted: FRONTCOURT– BACKCOURT 9.9.1 SITUATION A: A1 catches the throw-in pass with one foot on the floor in A's frontcourt and the other foot not touching the floor. The non-pivot foot then comes down in A's backcourt. RULING: Violation. Team control is established in A's frontcourt when A1 catches the throw-in pass. The violation occurs when A1 subsequently touches the backcourt with the non-pivot foot. (4-12-6; 9-9-3) |
|
|||
Another Myth Bites The Dust ...
During a throwin, or jump ball, any player; or a defensive player, in making a steal; may legally jump from his or her frontcourt, secure control of the ball with both feet off the floor, and return to the floor with one or both feet in the backcourt. The player may make a normal landing and it makes no difference whether the first foot down is in the frontcourt or the backcourt. These three situations are not backcourt violations.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
Let's add this...
Offensive player is being pressure by D in FC moving toward BC...throw in come from sideline and is tapped by offensive player and ball goes to BC where he runs and gaines control. BC violation or no? |
|
||||
No. While the throwin was over, team control was never established in the FC. In order to call a legitimate BC violation, the ball must have FC status while team control is in effect. FWIW, without team control FC/BC status are meaningless; they are dependent upon team control.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
Is this correct?
I understand there is no backcourt violation during/after the throw-in, but want to make sure I'm right on when team control, player control, and front-court/backcourt status is established.
During a throwin, A2 jumps from his frontcourt, catches the ball in mid-air, and lands in his backcourt. - When A2 secures the ball in mid-air: * The throw in ends (actually ends as soon as A2 touches the ball, it doesn't have to be secured.) * Team A has team control * A2 has player control * A2 has front-court status while in the air, and has back-court status when he lands in the back-court. - No backcourt violation because A1 caught the ball while both feet were in the air, and Team A was not in control immediately before he caught the pass. Is this all correct? |
|
|||
Quote:
The concepts of player control, team control, when the throw-in ends, and fc/bc status remain consistent throughout the game. |
|
|||
The OP is unclear
did the player catch the ball with one foot on the floor then step in the back court, Clearly violation.
if the player was airborne caught the ball then the player has the right to land and can not be called for a back court violation if one foot lands in either court in any order. But the throw in ends when the ball is legally touched on the court which would be when the ball is touched and the players foot is on the floor. The exception here is that the airborne player is allowed to land getting both feet down safely. I do agree with Snaqs it is the fact that once the ball is legally touched on the floor the throw in is over then the violation occurs.
__________________
New and improved: if it's new it's not improved; if it's improved it's not new. |
|
||||
I meant it literally.
FC and BC are only significant once team control has been established. Unless you can show me a rule which refers to FC or BC when there is no team control. You have been known to prove me wrong before on rules; got something?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
which is correct.... | JohnBark | Basketball | 2 | Fri Apr 15, 2005 11:36am |
How do you correct this??? | Luv4Asian8 | Basketball | 27 | Wed Feb 11, 2004 10:40pm |
How to correct? | Bart Tyson | Basketball | 10 | Mon Jan 26, 2004 10:06pm |
Was I correct? | moose69 | Basketball | 22 | Sat Dec 08, 2001 11:17pm |