![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Violation?
B is properly lined up in the FT lane after a time out.
Team A is still huddled around the coach. Official places ball at FT line and starts a ten count. A1 rushes to the FT line and enters the semicircle.....A2-3-4-5 mosey out to half court. What rule is there to support a violation on A1 if she walks into the half circle and shoots the FT before 10 seconds? |
|
|||
|
Quote:
9.1.3 SITUATION J: The official administering a free throw awarded to A1 places the ball at his/her disposal. A1, who is inside the free-throw semicircle leaves the semicircle to confer with a teammate. RULING: Violation. After the ball has been placed at the disposal of the free thrower, he/she is not permitted to leave or enter the free-throw semicircle without violating, until restrictions have ended. (9-1-3e Penalty 1) |
|
|||
|
Here's where I'm confused:
9.3.e: After the ball is placed at the disposal of a free thrower: The free thrower shall not have either foot beyond the vertical plane of the edge of the free throw line....or the free throw semi-circle. On the resumption of play, wouldn't the ball be considered at disposal when the ball is placed on the floor - resulting in a violation at that moment? Or is the ball not considered at disposal when the ball is placed on the floor in this situation? |
|
|||
|
Nevada,
Check out this year's illustration of the Resumption of Play Procedure in our Simplified and Illustrated "picture book". Looks like the Team A players are in the wrong spot????
__________________
Dan Ivey Tri-City Sports Officials Asso. (TCSOA) Member since 1989 Richland, WA |
|
|||
|
Sometimes A Technical Foul ...
Remember, the Resumption of Play procedure is only used for a free throw after a timeout, or intermission. If the free throw is not after a timeout, or intermission, and the team delays, it's a technical foul.
The Resumption of Play procedure can be used for any throwin, not just a throwin after a timeout, or intermission.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
|
When is the violation called?
Is there a rule or case number that determines when the violation is called when the ball is placed on the floor during resumption of play for a free throw?
NevadaRef indicates the violation is not called until the free thrower actually enters the semi-circle, or the 10 second count is reached. Team A could call a TO to avoid the violation. Can someone point me to the rule or case to support that? I can only find 9.3.e which says the the free thrower can't be outside the semi-circle after the ball is at the disposal of the free thrower. Isn't the ball at disposal when the ball is placed on the floor, which means a violation immediately? Thanks! |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
I don't what else to tell you. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I'd generally agree with BITS (I think that's who it was) that this rule could / should be changed to allow the "hurry-up" FT to take place. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
A1, who is INSIDE the free-throw semicircle leaves the semicircle ........ How can he/she violate by ENTERING the semicircle? The ONLY violation that can occur is LEAVING the semi circle. |
|
|||
|
Don't read the situation, read the Ruling! It says "RULING: Violation. After the ball has been placed at the disposal of the free thrower, he/she is not permitted to LEAVE OR ENTER the free-throw semicircle WITHOUT VIOLATING, until restrictions have ended.
__________________
DETERMINATION ALL BUT ERASES THE THIN LINE BETWEEN THE IMPOSSIBLE AND THE POSSIBLE! |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Shouldn't the ruling be based solely on the situation? |
|
|||
|
Coach: It doesn't matter. Once the ball is placed at the disposal of the free thrower, whether they are in there or not, they cannot LEAVE and no one else can enter until all restrictions have ended. If they are not in there at the start, the official places the ball on the floor and begins the 10 sec count. If someone enters before the count ends, violation. If the official reaches 10 secs, violation. I think it is kind of dumb and I have never seen it happen, but that is the rule.
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Resumption of play | jdmara | Basketball | 7 | Sat Nov 01, 2008 01:18am |
| Resumption of Play???? | joseph2493 | Basketball | 27 | Fri Feb 15, 2008 10:27am |
| resumption of play | palmettoref | Basketball | 28 | Fri Oct 20, 2006 11:26am |
| Resumption of play following a time out during free throws | truerookie | Basketball | 23 | Sat May 14, 2005 01:40pm |
| Resumption of play?? | ref4e | Basketball | 7 | Tue Jan 22, 2002 11:14pm |