The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 06, 2008, 03:23pm
BLS BLS is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Central IL
Posts: 27
Free Throw - Resumption of Play

NFHS.... Resumption of play procedure for a free throw following a timeout or intermission.

Part I:

8.2: "...The ball shall be placed at the disposal of the thrower or placed on the floor and the count shall begin...".

Defense is occupying proper lane spaces, offense team is causing the delay by not coming out of their huddle (including the FT shooter).

After placing the ball on the floor, do you immediately call the violation
(9.3.e), or wait to call the violation until after the free thrower enters the free throw semi-circle or until the 10 second count is up (whichever is first)?

Part II:

Offense & Defense are occupying proper lane spaces. After missing the first of 2 FTs, A1 (FT shooter) leaves the semi-circle and walks back to half court, causing an undue delay. How do you handle? Warning for delay? Nothing under 4.47 seems to fit.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 06, 2008, 03:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by BLS View Post
NFHS.... Resumption of play procedure for a free throw following a timeout or intermission.

Part I:

8.2: "...The ball shall be placed at the disposal of the thrower or placed on the floor and the count shall begin...".

Defense is occupying proper lane spaces, offense team is causing the delay by not coming out of their huddle (including the FT shooter).

After placing the ball on the floor, do you immediately call the violation
(9.3.e), or wait to call the violation until after the free thrower enters the free throw semi-circle or until the 10 second count is up (whichever is first)?

Part II:

Offense & Defense are occupying proper lane spaces. After missing the first of 2 FTs, A1 (FT shooter) leaves the semi-circle and walks back to half court, causing an undue delay. How do you handle? Warning for delay? Nothing under 4.47 seems to fit.
Part 1: The official must wait for the 10 seconds or illegal entry into the semi-circle. The team could request a time-out to avoid the impending FT violation.

Part 2: Technical foul. 10-3-5c
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 06, 2008, 05:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 656
Violation?

B is properly lined up in the FT lane after a time out.
Team A is still huddled around the coach.
Official places ball at FT line and starts a ten count.
A1 rushes to the FT line and enters the semicircle.....A2-3-4-5 mosey out to half court.

What rule is there to support a violation on A1 if she walks into the half circle and shoots the FT before 10 seconds?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 06, 2008, 05:17pm
Ch1town
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by coachp View Post
what rule is there to support a violation on a1 if she walks into the half circle and shoots the ft before 10 seconds?
rpp
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 06, 2008, 05:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoachP View Post
B is properly lined up in the FT lane after a time out.
Team A is still huddled around the coach.
Official places ball at FT line and starts a ten count.
A1 rushes to the FT line and enters the semicircle.....A2-3-4-5 mosey out to half court.

What rule is there to support a violation on A1 if she walks into the half circle and shoots the FT before 10 seconds?
No rule, but the Case Book says this is a violation.

9.1.3 SITUATION J:
The official administering a free throw awarded to A1 places the ball at his/her disposal. A1, who is inside the free-throw semicircle leaves the semicircle to confer with a teammate. RULING: Violation. After the ball has been placed at the disposal of the free thrower, he/she is not permitted to leave or enter the free-throw semicircle without violating, until restrictions have ended. (9-1-3e Penalty 1)

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 06, 2008, 06:30pm
BLS BLS is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Central IL
Posts: 27
Here's where I'm confused:
9.3.e: After the ball is placed at the disposal of a free thrower:
The free thrower shall not have either foot beyond the vertical plane
of the edge of the free throw line....or the free throw semi-circle.

On the resumption of play, wouldn't the ball be considered at disposal when the ball is placed on the floor - resulting in a violation at that moment?

Or is the ball not considered at disposal when the ball is placed on the floor in this situation?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 06, 2008, 06:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 1,856
Nevada,

Check out this year's illustration of the Resumption of Play Procedure in our Simplified and Illustrated "picture book".

Looks like the Team A players are in the wrong spot????
__________________
Dan Ivey
Tri-City Sports Officials Asso. (TCSOA)
Member since 1989
Richland, WA
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 06, 2008, 07:10pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,392
Sometimes A Technical Foul ...

Remember, the Resumption of Play procedure is only used for a free throw after a timeout, or intermission. If the free throw is not after a timeout, or intermission, and the team delays, it's a technical foul.

The Resumption of Play procedure can be used for any throwin, not just a throwin after a timeout, or intermission.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 07, 2008, 03:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by RookieDude View Post
Nevada,

Check out this year's illustration of the Resumption of Play Procedure in our Simplified and Illustrated "picture book".

Looks like the Team A players are in the wrong spot????
I don't have the 08-09 version. However, if the diagram is the same as last year, then the new rule would make it incorrect. Of course, the book may have been printed before the passage of that rule or maybe the editors just goofed and forgot to alter the picture.

I don't what else to tell you.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 07, 2008, 08:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by BLS View Post
Here's where I'm confused:
9.3.e: After the ball is placed at the disposal of a free thrower:
The free thrower shall not have either foot beyond the vertical plane
of the edge of the free throw line....or the free throw semi-circle.

On the resumption of play, wouldn't the ball be considered at disposal when the ball is placed on the floor - resulting in a violation at that moment?

Or is the ball not considered at disposal when the ball is placed on the floor in this situation?
Yes the ball is at the disposal of the FT. Yes, reading the rule alone might lead to that conclusion. But, the rules (and cases) assume "nothing else is going on" (unless otherwise stated). When "something else" (in this case the RPP), is going on, then the rules might be slightly different.

I'd generally agree with BITS (I think that's who it was) that this rule could / should be changed to allow the "hurry-up" FT to take place.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 07, 2008, 08:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 656
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
No rule, but the Case Book says this is a violation.

9.1.3 SITUATION J:
The official administering a free throw awarded to A1 places the ball at his/her disposal. A1, who is inside the free-throw semicircle leaves the semicircle to confer with a teammate. RULING: Violation. After the ball has been placed at the disposal of the free thrower, he/she is not permitted to leave or enter the free-throw semicircle without violating, until restrictions have ended. (9-1-3e Penalty 1)


A1, who is INSIDE the free-throw semicircle leaves the semicircle ........

How can he/she violate by ENTERING the semicircle? The ONLY violation that can occur is LEAVING the semi circle.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 07, 2008, 08:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 768
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoachP View Post
A1, who is INSIDE the free-throw semicircle leaves the semicircle ........

How can he/she violate by ENTERING the semicircle? The ONLY violation that can occur is LEAVING the semi circle.
Don't read the situation, read the Ruling! It says "RULING: Violation. After the ball has been placed at the disposal of the free thrower, he/she is not permitted to LEAVE OR ENTER the free-throw semicircle WITHOUT VIOLATING, until restrictions have ended.
__________________
DETERMINATION ALL BUT ERASES THE THIN LINE BETWEEN THE IMPOSSIBLE AND THE POSSIBLE!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 07, 2008, 08:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 656
Quote:
Originally Posted by jritchie View Post
Don't read the situation, read the Ruling! It says "RULING: Violation. After the ball has been placed at the disposal of the free thrower, he/she is not permitted to LEAVE OR ENTER the free-throw semicircle WITHOUT VIOLATING, until restrictions have ended.
C'mon now..."Don't read the situation, read the ruling?" That's the best answer?

Shouldn't the ruling be based solely on the situation?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Resumption of play jdmara Basketball 7 Sat Nov 01, 2008 01:18am
Resumption of Play???? joseph2493 Basketball 27 Fri Feb 15, 2008 10:27am
resumption of play palmettoref Basketball 28 Fri Oct 20, 2006 11:26am
Resumption of play following a time out during free throws truerookie Basketball 23 Sat May 14, 2005 01:40pm
Resumption of play?? ref4e Basketball 7 Tue Jan 22, 2002 11:14pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:06am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1