The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Tue May 10, 2005, 11:07am
Official Forum Member

I need clarification of the proper procedure for this. A4 is at the free throw line shooting a one plus one. Team B coach calls a time out before A4 receives the ball. The time out is granted after the time is over here is where is gets cloudy for me.
1. Are you required to blow your whistle to make the ball live again? I know you put air in your whistle to signal ready for play after time outs during the course of the game in any other situation this one area is not clear however.

2. Do you go into administering the free throws and the start; stop signal will make the ball live again by your partner or yourself on a successful or failed attempted?

Like the name states I am a true rookie however, I look for the small things in officiating that makes a differences. I cannot find anything in my references to clear this procedure up for me. All feedback is greatly appreciated.
Old Tue May 10, 2005, 11:22am
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
I do not sound my whistle after a TO when play is resumed with a FT. I've never been dinged for it in observations or at camp. I figure if they don't know we're about to start play after two horns and me saying "Two shots!" before bouncing the ball to the shooter, well, they have bigger problems than just my whistle.
Old Tue May 10, 2005, 02:04pm
In Memoriam

Quote:
Originally posted by truerookie

1. Are you required to blow your whistle to make the ball live again?

Blowing the whistle never makes the ball live.

The only reference that you need is NFHS rule 6-1-2.
The ball becomes live when:
(a) on a jump ball, the tossed ball leaves the referee's hand(s).
(b) on a throw-in, it is at the disposal of the thrower.
(c) On a free throw, it is at the disposal of the free thrower.