![]() |
|
|
|||
Correct. He may not pivot. Either foot may be lifted but not returned to the floor before releasing a shot or pass. Neither foot may be lifted before starting a dribble.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
In the NCAA definition, a jump stop can only be executed if a player with one foot on the floor "catches the ball while moving or dribbling." Both the definition of jump stop and traveling in Rule 4 use this language. There is no language that I can find that addresses when a stationary player catches the ball with one foot on the floor. Does that make a difference?
Specifically, suppose A2 catches the ball with one foot on the floor, stands on that one foot for a couple of seconds, and then jumps off it and lands on two feet. Legal jump stop, or travel? |
|
|||
Quote:
No player would stand on one foot while waiting to receive a pass (exceptions: pass is in the air and player stumbles and regains balance just in time to catch pass, player has only one foot, coach calls for the "sleeping flamingo" play.) |
|
|||
I agree that it's unlikely at best, but what if it happened? Is it legal to catch the ball while on one foot but not moving or dribbling, then jump stop to two feet?
|
|
|||
Yes, it is legal.
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Non- pivot foot | rngrck | Baseball | 31 | Tue Mar 04, 2008 03:37pm |
Windup position - position of pivot foot | BigGuy | Baseball | 3 | Thu May 31, 2007 02:21am |
Pivot Foot - Violation? | JLC | Basketball | 1 | Fri Feb 03, 2006 09:40am |
pivot foot | ROMANO | Basketball | 5 | Thu Jan 16, 2003 01:39am |
lifting the pivot foot | erikengquist | Basketball | 13 | Wed Nov 13, 2002 03:35pm |