The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 03, 2006, 09:18am
JLC JLC is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 40
Another post and a game last night got me to thinking, and since I have no books, I need to ask here. I know it is a violation if you jump in the air, then release the ball and start to dribble, because you must start your dribble before you pick up your pivot foot. But is this legal in a case where you do not have a pivot foot? You only have a pivot foot in very specific circumstances that are very specifically laid out in the rules. If you have both feet on the ground and receive a pass, you have no pivot foot. You don't have a pivot foot until you pick up one of your feet. If you jump then, you are picking up both feet at the same time, so do you ever have a pivot foot? Can you jump and then start your dribble? Or is there a specific part of the rule that addresses this? Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 03, 2006, 09:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,446
Quote:
Originally posted by JLC
Another post and a game last night got me to thinking, and since I have no books, I need to ask here. I know it is a violation if you jump in the air, then release the ball and start to dribble, because you must start your dribble before you pick up your pivot foot. But is this legal in a case where you do not have a pivot foot? You only have a pivot foot in very specific circumstances that are very specifically laid out in the rules. If you have both feet on the ground and receive a pass, you have no pivot foot. You don't have a pivot foot until you pick up one of your feet. If you jump then, you are picking up both feet at the same time, so do you ever have a pivot foot? Can you jump and then start your dribble? Or is there a specific part of the rule that addresses this? Thanks.
There's a specific case where this play is discussed -- it's a violation.

If either foot can be the pivot foot, then either foot needs to stay on the ground until the ball is released on the dribble.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:11am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1