Teams go in the wrong direction
This is from an on-line rules review that I use. This particular one does not make sense and I need to some help understanding.
To start the game, the officials permit the teams to go in the wrong direction. A-1 secures the tap and scores. B-1 inbounds the ball to B—2. B-2 recognizes the mistake and scores at what should be B’s basket.
Officials huddle and rule that the score by A-1 will count for team A and the score by B—2 will count for team B making the score 2 to 2. Are the officials correct?
The rule reference is 4.5.4 which I get. What I don't get is how B-2 scored. As I read it, Team B scored in the same bucket as A because he figured out the mistake. Does not seem correct. Thoughts.
|